No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


So further to yesterday’s post…

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on July 18, 2007

A friend of the family has passed away this week.

JM was, I think, perhaps the nicest person I have ever met. Always kind, always wanting to make people feel comfortable. Even after he was diagnosed with two tumors and was pretty much assured that last Christmas would be his last… he was determined to make the folks visiting him feel, well, maybe not good, but as good as possible in the circumstances.

He dealt with him own impending mortality much better than I have seen others do it, much better than I think I could. Probably, I think, because he had a very strong faith in his religion.

He was the sort of guy who (in my opinion) the label “Christian” was meant to describe (not that it does in many cases).

He was the sort of guy who really makes me hope that there is, in fact, a heaven, because if anyone deserves such a place, he is on that list.

Any time someone I know dies, I think about these things. I am what you call an agnostic… can’t truly muster up the belief that “Atheist” requires. But I do know that I absolutely do not know what happens when you die. I suspect it’s like going to sleep. I do that a lot. I love sleep, so I figure death probably isn’t that bad. But after that… heaven? hell? reincarnation? becoming one with the universe? No one I know who has died has come back to tell me. I am an empirical evidence kind of gal, so I need a first hand report to get all definitive.

No real point here… just things that float around in my brain that I can usually push down and smother in inconsequential daily blather.

3 Responses to 'So further to yesterday’s post…'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'So further to yesterday’s post…'.

  1. brendalove@gmail.com said,

    Please accept my condolences on the loss of your friend.

    I have a strong belief there is something more for us when we die. However, I don’t think it will be life with an old guy that’s been keeping tabs on all the bad things we do.

  2. Al said,

    Death is so permanent, it goes on FOREVER. I believe in an afterlife of some kind, but probably it is just to make it easier. After all, if it comforts me now, it’s all good. And if I am wrong, I’ll be dead, and I won’t give a happy crap.

  3. Amy said,

    First of all, my condolences. I am so sorry that you have lost such a dear friend. But if his life meant anything, perhaps you might just let your mind inquire as to what his belief was all about. Some “old guy that’s been keeping tabs on all the bad things we do” is NOT God at all. He’s a father who has loved ALL of us so much that he’s given us the gift of heaven. Your friend did so many wonderful things in his life, I have no doubt, but none of us could do enough good to earn heaven on our own. The great thing is, we don’t have to!! It’s a gift! And that gift is yours just as much as it is your friends. Really.

    I don’t get up on a soap box often, but it’s so hard for me to see wonderful Christians who have lived these amazing, peaceful, loving lives to have people wonder HOW and WHY they were so great. God is that answer.

    Oh, and there’s a LOT of empirical data in the Bible. And to date, absolutely NONE of it has been proven wrong by historians or archeologists or anyone. NONE.

    hugs!


Leave a Reply

