No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Harry = Pottered

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on July 23, 2007

So I waited and waited and waited and waited and finally, Saturday evening, I got my HP7 and was able to crack into it.

I read for a couple hours Saturday night, which is against the rules, but I did it anyway.

Rules?

Yeah.

Exercise is a necessary, but not exactly wonderfully exciting part of every day.

In an effort to ensure a sufficient amount of time spent each morning and evening on ye olde exercise bike, I have a rule.

No reading unless you are on the bike.

The reading I love, you see… and so if I am not allowed to read unless I am on the bike, well, then I can guarantee I’ll get on the bike, if only to see what comes next.

But, Saturday night, well… It had been a long day, with the memorial service for JM and all, and all I really wanted to do was sit on the couch. But there was my shiny new HP7… I’m sure you understand.

Anyway, Sunday morning, bright and early, having gotten through about a third of the book the previous evening, I had to know. HAD TO.

So, out of bed… on the exercise bike…

So it took me 3 hours and 15 minutes to finish the book. But I was by-golly NOT giving up until I knew how it came out.

I don’t know if I was more relieved at the end of the book to know what happened, or to be able to get my butt off that bike seat… the last hour or so there was a lot of shifting and fidgeting.

Not giving anything away, but I was pleased with the last book. I think it was not the best written book of the series… part of the charm of the previous books was some of the aside work – going off other corridors, etc, and the puns, and word-play. There was less of that in this book, I think because of the seriousness of the subject, and maybe she’s just a little tired? Still, a good book, and an appropriate end to the series. I was not in any way disappointed in the events as they unfolded.

I was especially pleased with the “Neville and Gran” bit she tucked in. It was a nice little touch.

So that’s it for the whole Harry Potter thing. Now if Robert Jordan could just wrap up that pesky wheel of time…

3 Responses to 'Harry = Pottered'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Harry = Pottered'.

  1. Al said,

    I haven’t gotten the Harry Potter book yet. My grandson likes them, so I buy them for him, and oh by the way, I get to read them too.

  2. Cravey said,

    Um, you mean you biked for over 3 hours? Seriously?
    If so, you are my hero, if you sat there and read in the seat without pedaling, we maybe twins separated at birth.
    Heh.

    Yay!
    JC

  3. tiff said,

    I’m with JC on the whole “three hours on the bike” thing. Wowser!

    I would not, however, have thought of NOT pedalling. This is why JC is an evil genius and I am just the court jester.


Leave a Reply

