No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


I wonder

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on October 12, 2007

You ever wonder about those funny, popular bloggers?

You know the ones… Their lives are an endless cycle of hilarity.

Their writing styles are brilliant.

Every post they post already has 85 comments on it by the time you read it?

Well, don’t tell anyone…

But I’m starting to think they make some of that stuff up.

Nobody’s life can be filled with that much hilarious conflict EVERY DAY – can it?

I can go entire days sitting here in my cubicle and not even speak to another human being.

How can some people just constantly be involved in hilarity? Life is not really a sit-com.

And… if it is made up… is that cheating?

Is having a blog that is supposedly about your life, but just making stuff up out of whole cloth (HILARIOUS, CLOWN-CLOTH) not sort of unfair to the rest of us poor schlubs who have to dredge up stories of long-ago orthodontia to entertain and amuse?

——————-

Why do I care?

I was just sitting here, lamenting how much funnier my blog used to be back in the day. Admittedly, it was a lot meaner too… much of the hilarity involved me abusing people who wrote in letters to the editor. Still, there was the funny. And there was a certain enjoyment in lambasting these morons and their silly “opinions”.

This comes on due to the last post, where I was supposed to be looking for my favorite posts and, well, I don’t know that I have “favorites” on this new celery-free incarnation of my blog.

It’s my third blog. The first one was written right out in the open, using my full, real, name and everything.

Two problems with that. My family found it. And, as I said, I was rather, um, outspoken, and I thought that perhaps someone might try to come and kill me at my house.

The last blog, well, the hubby kind of outed the fact that were were married on his blog, which made it likely that people might still be able to figure out who I was.

So now that I have a 100% unconnected blog. (Or, at least, I am pretty sure this blog would not be able to be connected with my real identity)… I find that I have lost the knack.

I think I am going to try to get back some of the snark. I have tried that before, though. Egad! Am I too old? Have I LOST my snark?

10 Responses to 'I wonder'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'I wonder'.

  1. Amy said,

    My blog was very different before I moved it and now my family reads it so I keep it pretty tame. I think the same things, though, boy, it seems so dull now.

    But I’d rather be real and honest and not offend anyone I love just for the sake of entertaining reading by strangers, you know?

    I like your blog just the way it is. And I have no clue who you really are. Not that I’ve tried to figure it out, but still. I just know that we’re kindred spirits cause I hate celery, too!

  2. Doc Nagel said,

    Woo-hoo! Snark hunt!

  3. rennratt said,

    Oh, tell me about it.

    I have the tendency to be ‘more me’ in my blog than in person. I’m just better “on paper”, if you will.

    I sometimes struggle with funny vs. mean. My husband outed me to half our CHURCH, and it’s hard to call someone a ‘rat b–st–d’ when you know your preacher is reading.

    I have finally decided to just be ME, dagnabbit. Or I put the ‘mean/odd’ in email form and send it to Tiff of “No Accent”. She knows me ‘in real life’ – and finds bitter snark pretty funny.

    I don’t understand the ‘always funny’ people, either. I must admit to being incredibly jealous of the talent, though.

  4. Sarah said,

    Be yourself! 80% of my blog is drunk stories, and my family and people from my church read it. I just pretend like I’m typing it up in a Word doc and am the only one reading it.

    Um I have a confession to make. I am drunk right now. I’m sorry. I promise I’ll come back when I’m not drunk and listening to the soundtrack of a Muppet movie. Well, okay I won’t be drunk. But I can’t promise I won’t be listening to the Muppets.

  5. Joe said,

    I make up 95% of everything in my blog (I mean, I once faked my own death in my blog . . .) I’m too self absorbed to really care about anyone else so I rarely ever read anyone else’s blog – which means I have like two or three people who actually look at my blog.

    The reason I even have a blog is because it’s fun to write and have it be read. Other than for giggles, I have not idea why blogs exist.

    Well wait . . . I do from time to time use my blog to rant about things I care about – like how stupid Funky Winkerbean is or people who don’t wash their hands.

    Other than that – pure BS.

  6. Dani said,

    You are never too old for snark.

  7. Tracy Kaply said,

    I am always very serious on my blog. ALWAYS.

    OK, I’m not always funny. But you, my dear, are one of my favorite bloggers. And my favorite post of yours was actually a comment you made on my blog about pigs.

    Maybe pigs ate your snark. Bastards. You know they’re capable of such heinous things.

  8. Cravey said,

    Okay, where was the last part you saw your snark? I often leave mine on top of the microwave or on the toilet tank.

    Fear not, you still got. I see it.
    You’re just rusty.
    Go to a Wal-mart on a Saturday mid-day. you’ll find plenty to snark about.

    JC

  9. Jerk Of All Trades 2.0 said,

    I was hilarious with 85 comment posts, but it all faded away…..

    Now I am just another boring blogger. I feel less stress to entertain now though. Sometimes I miss it, but not for the 85 comments, just a happier, funnier me. He went bye-bye and left no forwarding address.

    I think I outed that you guys were married, but all I said were blog names, he went ahead and named names and birth weight.

    You still rock, you just don’t know it.

  10. the only daughter said,

    You ever wonder about those funny, popular bloggers? sometimes, but not often. I find that, besides industry blogs I don’t read those as much either. True, there is talent but it all feels so…plastic.

    Loses something in translation. I visit people who write and feel like people.


Leave a Reply

