No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Counting My Blessings

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on October 30, 2007

Now, I am fully aware of my tendency to be a whiny whiner.

I think one of the things I appreciate about blogland, but do not mention, is that reading about other people’s lives really puts my petty struggles with having a slightly boring job and an penchant to want to change my environment every ten minutes in serious perspective.

Today, a good blogger has passed away. I didn’t know that Dr. Syn was Blitz Kreig – Guess I wasn’t paying attention, but that just added an extra hit to the news.

He walked into a door a few weeks ago. Walked into a door. He posted about it… joked about it. A pirate with an eye patch. Now, a couple of weeks goes by and he has died of a subsequent infection. Life is fragile. It should not be taken for granted. A door.

So, for the record, since I know I will go back to being a whiny whiner pretty soon – it’s in my nature – I would like to say:

  • I am lucky to have my life.
  • I have a place to live.
  • I have enough to eat.
  • I have a husband that I love and who loves me.
  • I have a loving family.
  • I am in good health.
  • I have an abundance of “stuff” that would probably make my depression-era grandmother blush if she could see it.
  • I have a good job that pays my bills.
  • This is a good life.

Dr. Syn – you will be missed.

5 Responses to 'Counting My Blessings'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Counting My Blessings'.

  1. wordnerd said,

    Something tells me he would have loved this post.

    I just may steal your idea.

  2. ~**Dawn**~ said,

    It is so fleeting… Sometimes we really do forget how fragile we are.

  3. tiff said,

    Count all those blessings. It is a good life.

  4. rennratt said,

    Amen.

  5. the only daughter said,

    It is just that kind of thing that have us all looking with a less critical eye at our own lives.

    I am reminded once again, that no matter how bad I think my life is, someone else struggles mightily.


Leave a Reply

