No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


6 things

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on November 21, 2007

So I have been tagged by Monsieur Ron with this 6 things meme that’s going around.

I am way too lazy to play properly, so I am not listing the rules (egad – you mean you haven’t seen them somewhere else?) and I’m not tagging anyone (because I don’t think there’s anyone left who hasn’t done this) and I don’t have anything I can really call a “secret” because, hey, you know, this is an anonymous blog and what kind of secrets do I have anyway… all I do is work and exercise anyway.

So really, I am just going to list the numbers 1 to 6 and type some stuff after them and call it good to go.

But don’t say I didn’t play along!

1 – I am lazy (as you may have noticed from this post) but I am also a perfectionist in many ways. This duality causes no end of conflict in my psyche where I am too lazy to do something (oh, let’s say, sweep the floor), but I am constantly berating myself for the state that whatever it is I am not doing is in. I already feel guilty that I am not playing along right with this meme.

2 – I want a lot of stuff. I have a huge list of things I want. On the other hand, I hate debt. I love to have money in the bank. I simultaneously want to pay off my mortgage as quickly as possible and own my house free and clear AND want to buy my dream house (which, incidentally, does not actually exist anywhere).

3 – I do not now, nor will I ever, want kids. Well, except when I do. You know when I want kids? When I am in the mall or Target and I see these ADORABLE little outfits for boys with slacks and sweater vests and little ties – stuff I cannot buy for my sister’s kids because she would DIE before allowing them to dress like tiny college professors. Lucky for me, I am aware that dressing kids in adorable (to me) outfits is an exceedingly bad reason to breed and so I am able to resist. I would be an appalling mother. I am barely willing to feed the dog when I get home at the end of the day (see #1) and I don’t want to see to anyone’s needs but my own. Plus – kids are expensive (see #2).

4 – I had extremely low self esteem in high school. It kind of followed me through college. I thought it was just a part of me. Yet, I cannot pin-point it, but somewhere in the last 5 to 10 years, I have somehow come to see myself in a different light. I like me. I am a good person. Snarky, amusing, polite to strangers (although I will totally make fun of them where they cannot hear me and be hurt) I have a job and a life that I enjoy. I wouldn’t have expected it, but I am glad I have come to this. I am not “hot” or “gorgeous” and I never will be, but I have come to see what I could not in HS – I am pretty cute, fine just the way I am, and clean up OK when I have to and people are not going to puke walking down the street and looking at me. I think that’s enough.

5 – I have a rockin‘ outfit on today. Boot cut jeans and chunky black shoes. Burgundy shirt and a velour jacket that comes just down over my waist. Stacey and Clinton would not have ANYTHING bad to say about this in the 360 mirror. This does not happen very often. I mostly dress like a boy in cargo shorts and t’s / sweats unless I am at work and wearing khakis and some random shirt. I felt like I should share.

These listy things are harder than one might expect.

—belated edit—

Phew.

12 Responses to '6 things'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to '6 things'.

  1. Rebecca said,

    I hear ya about the whole not having kids thing…I had not wanted kids originally(for some of the reasons that you don’t) and my son was an “uh-oh”…he’s pretty cool though and I love him

  2. Blonde Goddess said,

    Clothing is NOT a reason to have kids.
    Buy a huge ass dolly and buy clothes for it.
    Dress it up.
    Hold it even.
    It will not poop, scream or grow up to yell, I hate you!
    Those are real things kids do.

    Of course I wouldn’t trade my kids for the world!!!
    I love those little ingrates that stretched all the perky and tight things out to never return to a perky and tight state….

    Er….

    Happy Thanksgiving?

  3. Evil Twin's Wife said,

    Have a great day tomorrow. Will there be legal beverages involved? That always made my holidays with extended family much more smoove.

  4. the only daughter said,

    No BIG family tootleloo, just a small family toot–thank goodness.

    Being a dutiful daughter is a tough job–but some of us have to do it.

    Happy gobble day. šŸ™‚

  5. utenzi said,

    Nice list, NCP, I can see myself in several of your items. Maybe we’re related!

    Have a happy Thanksgiving–even if everyone is mum about the prison thing looming over your sister. Food can help you forget–if you eat enough. Or is that alcohol?

  6. Doc Nagel said,

    If it’ll help, rest assured that we’ll be talking about your sister and the embezzlement thing all day, in part in an effort to avoid the local family scandal.

    For that I am definitely thankful.

  7. Ron said,

    Hope your having a great thanksgiving!!

  8. brendalove@gmail.com said,

    You are smart not to have kids just so you can dress them up. Especially when you dress them up and they go jump directly into a mud puddle.

  9. rennratt said,

    Good choices, all.

    May your Thanksgiving be warm and pleasant.

    May your turkey be tasty – and your conversations pleasant.

    Best wishes and Happy Thanksgiving, my friend.

  10. wordnerd said,

    What a great list — and it’s good to know that you are comfortable in your own skin. It’s so important, and some folks never achieve that feeling.

    Wishing you a very Happy Thanksgiving!

  11. ~**Dawn**~ said,

    Number four is a conclusion I have finally started to reach myself. I still slip from time to time but I’m finally feeling comfortable in my own skin most of the time.

  12. Jerk Of All Trades 2.0 said,

    It disturbs me that I know who Stacey (Groooowl) and Clinton are.


Leave a Reply

