No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


BLATANT TOPIC THEFT

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on December 12, 2007

I am nothing if not willing to rip off other people’s topics.

Today, Miss Kaply enlightened us on the subjects that she no longer wishes to discuss.

It really resonated with me. There’s a whole bunch of stuff that I just NO LONGER WANT TO HEAR ABOUT and people just won’t freakin’ leave alone.

Who’s going to be the Presidential nominee? Oh God – just shut up! We live in NORTH CAROLINA!!! Do you know how late our primaries are? We have ZERO say in who the nominees will be. They are already chosen by the time our primary comes around. IT DOES NOT MATTER WHO YOU LIKE OR DO NOT LIKE BECAUSE YOU WILL NOT GET TO VOTE ON IT! Also… the fact that NC ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS goes Republican on the president means that the actual presidential voting won’t make a damn bit of difference either (although I always do it).

Illegal Immigrants. OK, I Get It. You think illegal immigrants are somehow destroying the country, taking all our jobs, costing the government too much money and generally ushering in the apocalypse. OR, conversely, you think the borders should be wide open and free for all to roam in and out at will and do whatever they want. Either way… I am sick of hearing about it. Immigrants, illegal or otherwise, are not doing anything to me – I will return the favor by ignoring them.

BIAs – OK, this is a work thing and you have no idea what it’s about… but I’m sick of those too.

War in Iraq. I know. I know. I should care. I really should. The 5th grade civics student in me is ABSOLUTELY APPALLED that I no longer want to hear about this. But I don’t, god help me.

Gas Prices. Yes. I know. It’s expensive.

It’s getting to the point where I just don’t want to watch the news at all any more. Which is sad, because I used to think of myself as an informed person. Maybe I just need a break.

On the up side for you folks… I am not going to talk about soup today.

13 Responses to 'BLATANT TOPIC THEFT'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'BLATANT TOPIC THEFT'.

  1. Evil Twin's Wife said,

    I’m with you on the presidential stuff. Get it down to 2 and then I’ll think about it more.

  2. ~**Dawn**~ said,

    But you *are* informed. You just keep hearing about these same five things on the news too! How much more can you be informed?!

  3. Al said,

    Mrs A and I spent a week on a Mission to an orpanage in Mexico. No TV, no radio No hot water (No drinkable water either for that matter. I didn’t miss all the electronic chatter at all.

    When we got back, I turned on the TV and got the news.

    I turned it back off, thinking “I’m just not ready for this.”

  4. Tracy Kaply said,

    I NEVER watch the news. I do a quick scan of my Yahoo front page, and then get on with my life.

  5. Rebecca said,

    At least you included the word “soup” at some point…I would have been heartbroken otherwise

  6. tiff said,

    Can we include Britney Spears on the list too?

    Please?

  7. utenzi said,

    The “news” is half celebrity gossip now. I’ve given up on the electronic media for news. At least with a newspaper I can pick and choose what to read.

  8. Sarah said,

    If you think North Carolina is bad when it comes to campaigning, try going to Iowa. We visited for 4 days and I just about wanted to kill myself with a lawn sign. Sucks to be first, too. Now let us never speak of it again.

    And I *totally* second the Britney Spears thing!

  9. rennratt said,

    I’m with you on the ENTIRE list.

    I plan to vote for the one that knows when the heck to shut up.

    So far, no dice.

  10. the only daughter said,

    All those and then some. What’s really chapping my skin and turning me away is all the missing, murdered and otherwise exploited women.

    Each report of nothing more to report (but re-hashed anyway) is just….maddening.

  11. Blonde Goddess said,

    Soup is so SEXY though!!! The way it slips into your mouth…the soft chewy little bits of veggies…er…ok.
    Lets’ not talk about soup.
    Apparently I need some Mr.Man soup…

  12. utenzi said,

    I agree with Tammie. I want to hear about soup! I just figure it’s a metaphor anyway.

  13. brendalove@gmail.com said,

    I am alarmed because all of the candidates suck. I don’t want us to go from really freaking bad to extremely %&%$*% worse!!!


Leave a Reply

