No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Gah!

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on January 13, 2008

My niece called me to tell me that my “myspace” account had been hacked.

 D’oh!

I got phished – dummy! I clicked on a link on my niece’s page that said someone had posted soemthing bad about her.  Being the good aunt, I clicked on it to make sure no one was actually bad-mouthing my niece. So – redirect, ask for login… they got me, I admit it. I should have known, but I wasn’t paying attention.

So someone had logged into my account and posted a bunch of dirty “bulletins”. MySpace locked the account after about 10 of them. I just had to go in, change my password and delete the bulletins.

BUT!   With these little geniuses having my email address and MySpace password, I thought it would be safer to change all my online passwords (because, yeah, I am unsafe and use the same thing for most things)

So I had to spend 30 minutes going to all my accounts and changing the password.  At least I didn’t use all the same one this time.  It’s just going to be a bitch to remember them.

The worst part?   I don’t even use stupid MySpace. I only have a page because I was bored one day and it was something to do. Of course, if I did use it more, I might be aware of the phishes going around and not fall for them.  Ah well, new rule – no clicking links on MySpace.  I am too old to belong there anyway.

Gah!

11 Responses to 'Gah!'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Gah!'.

  1. kenju said,

    Oops. Once, in a moment of weakness, I signed up there too. I guess I should check out my page and see what mayhem has gone on.

  2. Doc Nagel said,

    To make the whole situation still more ironic, MySpace is pretty terrible to begin with. The only reason we’ve got a page is so friends of ours who have pages can use our songs for them on their pages. If you’re really really bored some day, try playing with that “feature.”

  3. Tammie said,

    I have a MySpace to keep an eye on my kids. It’s a good way of making sure they’re not in much mischief…

  4. Ron said,

    I have a myspace because….. well I just have one.

  5. tiff said,

    I had one. Deleted it. Still get invites for people to be my friend.

    One wonders what really happened when Ithought I deleted my page. Gah!!

  6. Al said,

    I was bored one day, so I set up a page. It’s still there, but I never have updated it. I suppose I should get rid of it.

  7. Deborah said,

    I thought about it and nixed it toot sweet. My daughter loves it. My son hated it.

    Figures.

    What about FaceBook? Whaddup wit dat? My daughter said she doesn’t “get it”. I didn’t ask her to elaborate.

  8. Deborah said,

    nevermind re: FaceBook….today, according to daughter…it’s Coool!

    I am not keeping score.

  9. Rebecca said,

    I have a myspace because it was cool once…

  10. wordnerd said,

    My kids say I’m not cool enough to have a MySpace. Darn. And I thought I was the cool mom.

  11. utenzi said,

    I got invited into Myspace but haven’t been back since that first time. I sure do get a lot of Email from people there. I’m too old for that silly stuff.


Leave a Reply

