No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Come here, Whippersnapper, and I’ll Tell You a Story

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on January 17, 2008

Why, my goodness, yes.

I remember the great winter storm of ought-eight.

It was a sight to behold! Snow lying so thick on the ground, by golly, you could actually see the stuff.

Schools closed! Businesses emptied! Why the only trade going on in town was a brisk business in milk and toilet paper at the general store.

The weather men were all a-twitter with the news that, ok, yes, it was just raining now, but BY GUM there had been WINTERY MIX coming down.  Can’t you just picture it?

No, they don’t make weather like that anymore.
Winter!

8 Responses to 'Come here, Whippersnapper, and I’ll Tell You a Story'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Come here, Whippersnapper, and I’ll Tell You a Story'.


  1. I am old enough to remember some pretty rough winters myself.

    One time in particular back in ’78. I made a real nice ice ball to throw at my borther,missed and broke the kitchen window.Got an ass beating. Good times!Good times!

  2. Ron said,

    I hope you are doing OK with the blizzard and all. I would break out your emergency supplies just in case it gets worse 😉 and I think I remember that blizzard of ’78 as well, for some odd reason my teacher had class that day and my parents made me go. I was the only kid there.


  3. LOL. Something about putting the cart in front of the horse?

  4. db grin said,

    Oy, the ’78 blizzard left me up to my armpits in snow while walking home from school. No wintery mix in this neighborhood, just finger-stiffening cold and lotsa rain.

  5. renn said,

    Schools in my neck of the woods were delayed two hours.

    It RAINED here.

  6. Doc Nagel said,

    Ah, ’78. Our house was snowed in. The snow itself was more than five feet deep, and the drifts were close to ten. Neighbors came and dug us out during the day.

    But now I live in Central California, and I’ve seen snow in the sky exactly once in ten years. The Mexican kids next door went completely insane. I think they thought they were gonna make a snowman. None of it stuck.

  7. Scott said,

    It was bizarre. Watching the local news early in the morning the reporter was driving along 485 saying that people shouldn’t be out unless absolutely necessary. The highway was bare and wet, it was raining. The only snow was on the grass. WTF? These people make me laugh. Maybe if I hadn’t lived up north for so long I would have the same mindset, but I don’t think so.

    It was three days before my 16th birthday when the real blizzard of ’78 hit Massachusetts, that was cool. It was a bad storm, but even worse because there was already a lot of snow on the ground from earlier storms.

  8. Utenzi said,

    Yer funny!


Leave a Reply

