No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


It’s Never a Good Idea to Let Me Get Bored

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on January 29, 2008

My new thing is that I would like to be more “outdoorsy”.

I started with the idea of having a vegetable garden.  But… Our yard is totally not in any kind of configuration that would allow that sort of thing.  We have a lot of shade, and some swampy areas, and, also, the whole drought thing to consider.  And, let’s face it, everything I eat comes out of a Lean Cuisine box, and what the heck am I gonna do with a bunch of fresh vegetables if I never cook?

So that idea is kind of a bad one (might put a large pot on the deck and grow some strawberries or something… plant an apple tree?).

So from there I went to the idea of maybe getting the hang of camping, which I never have done, mostly because the ground, well, it’s hard. But surely that’s something I ought to be able to deal with for the pleasure of sleeping out in the woods – under the stars and all that sort of thing?  Right?

We used to do a lot of hiking, but that’s a problem now because the Boo (our doggie) is getting up there in years and a 12 to 15 mile hike is, I think, beyond her.  But the idea of going for a hike with no Boo is just so sad, so we go on much shorter hikes, closer to home, which, you know, just isn’t the same as heading out to the mountains and in all that nature and stuff.

Last year I was all about the bike riding.  But, I never could convince the SB to join me.  He got a bike and everything, but declared that he didn’t like riding any more.  Riding a bike for long distances on your own, no matter how many times I tried to tell myself how much fun I was having, just isn’t all that enjoyable.  Add to that the fact that if I had gone further with it and started to do all day rides of 60 miles or so that I would then be missing one of the two days per week I can actually hang out with my husband, and I suppose the whole biking thing is probably over…

Spring is coming and I am getting restless.  I feel the need to get out and do things.  I just can figure out what things to do.

9 Responses to 'It’s Never a Good Idea to Let Me Get Bored'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'It’s Never a Good Idea to Let Me Get Bored'.

  1. Ron said,

    I like the camping idea, I usually go about twice a year with some guys from work. I know this is not the manly roughing it advice, but we take inflatable air mattress’s, I mean the ground is so hard and cold. After all I’m really there to sit around the campfire and cook things on a stick. Everything tastes better when cooked on a stick.


  2. They have these things that are like cots but bigger er wider and you put your air mattress on it and then NO GROUND ISSUES.

    Also? Do you have Zoos? Botanical Gardens? Day trip destinations?

  3. Deborah said,

    I can’t wait until I can get back on my bike.

    Much luck finding something you both can do together. 🙂

  4. brenda said,

    I wonder if hubby would be interested in water sports. No, not THAT kind of water sports, silly….i mean like going kayaking. That’s some serious fun.

  5. Doc Nagel said,

    You’ve got clay in your yard, you know. You’ll need to build your soil. Shade + heat = grow peas, spinach, and broccoli. Presumably you like at least one of those. Or herbs. Pansies are edible, too.


  6. I hear ya on the restless stuff. I am so ready for Spring.

  7. Al said,

    Get yourself some half whiskey barrels. Plant lettuce and carrots and radishes and onions. Make salad. Healthy, easy and NO COOKING!

    Since I bought the Airstream las year, the idea of sleeping on the ground just doesn’t appeal to me. All that gravity and stuff.

  8. tiff said,

    Flower gardening? Tennis? Golf? Chain saw whittlin’?

    Any of these strike you?

  9. Roo said,

    u run? i get that done before my SB wakes up and he’s happy cuz i’m not bothering him while he sleeps in…
    camping is cool. they make air mattresses.


Leave a Reply

