No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


If You Don’t Ask, You Don’t Get

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on February 14, 2008

Although I do charity walks and whatnot every year, and I have my personal charity donation amount that I put towards causes I think are worthy every year… every couple of years, I like to try and do a fundraising push for a charity I am supporting – to try and raise a litle more than I usually would.

So this year, I am participating in the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation Great Strides Walk.

Great Strides Logo

Cyctis Fibrosis is, thankfully, a fairly rare disease.  But because of that, it’s also hard for the foundation to raise the sort of money that, say, breast cancer, gets for its walks and fundraisers.

Before I was born, I had a cousin who died of cystic fibrosis.  It’s not a pleasant disease.  Back then, the treatment consisted of pounding kids with this problem on the back for 30 minutes every morning to loosen the thick mucus that builds up in their lungs.  Kids died very young of CF 40 years ago, and my cousin was no exception.  Because of CF, I never knew her.

Today, thanks to groups like the Cystic fibrosis foundation, the life expectancy of someone with CF can be in the mid-thirties… but that’s still a very short time, and more research and new drugs are needed to find a cure.

So… if you are the sort of person who dontates to charities, and you can spare a little of your charity budget for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation this year, I would surely appreciate it if you could click either on the link below, or one of the links to the right, and chip in a small (or, you know, large if you want to) amount of money to help stop other kids from dying of this horrible disease.

http://www.cff.org/Great_Strides/dsp_DonationPage.cfm?walkid=5269&idUser=138148

One Response to 'If You Don’t Ask, You Don’t Get'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'If You Don’t Ask, You Don’t Get'.

  1. Ron said,

    Hmmm “If you don’t ask, you don’t get.” I tried that approach to life, but I kept getting slapped by women and never got what I asked for. 🙂


Leave a Reply

