No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


About Time Too

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on February 27, 2008

If you haven’t seen it on the news… Starbucks closed down all its stores yesterday for 3 hours to retrain all its employees on, well, how to make coffee.

This makes me happy.

Not because I really ever go to Starbucks… I am not really what you’d call a coffee drinker and I don’t really like the way Starbucks roasts in particular.

But because I worked in Starbucks while I was in college. It was the first one in the city.  At the time, it was such a quality company.  I went through a week of “coffee university” to get that job.  I had to know everything about their coffee… I had to be able to pull a perfect 30 second shot of espresso.  I had to learn the secret system for putting the cups up on the bar so that I would know what drink went in them but customers would think I was just remembering everything.  I had to be able to foam, and froth, and put just the right amount of foam on a cappucino to keep it from being a latte.

It was as though the company really cared about its product and its customers.

In the last few years, well… names and drink orders written on cups. Espresso sitting around for more than 15 seconds without being used in a drink… Milk reheated… I would NEVER see anyone timing a shot.  And god help anyone who asked an employee something about the coffee. 

I just found it kind of sad.

So, even though I don’t go there because, frankly, I had just about all the coffee I’ll even need to drink during the time I worked in Starbucks, I am happy to see that they are re-committing to the thing that made them popular in the first place… not weird manes for the cups, or $5 coffee… but quality, caring, and a certain pride for the employees in doing their thing.

Good for you, Starbucks.

6 Responses to 'About Time Too'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'About Time Too'.

  1. Deborah said,

    I saw that news and though not (any longer) a coffee drinker and rarely a ‘bux customer, I was pleased to hear about a company so committed to training that they’d close stores to do so.

    Quality of product, step 1. Next up–service with a smile. 🙂

  2. tiff said,

    I don’t do the Bux because I don’t really care for their coffee, but any company that realizes it need to right the ship to get back on course is a good one as far as I’m concerned.

    I had no idea it took so much knowledge to mae a cuppa joe!

  3. Ron said,

    I don’t do coffee often, but it’s good to see a little retraining done. Who knows if it really changes things, but it certainly makes it appear that way.

  4. Roo said,

    Yo. I thought this was some mighty cool shit because i love starbucks… a white chocolate mocha is the same in montreal as it is in columbus as it is in portland as it is in tennessee.. oh hell. i couldn’t find a starbucks in tennessee….fricking tennessee…..
    i am a coffee kid. i’d shoot it up if i could. since i don’t have the stomach for that… im happy they are keepin’ it real….
    happy happy happy happy happy happy.
    and maybe a little over caffeinated….

  5. renn said,

    I love coffee, but am not a fan of S’bux.

    I am a Caribou Coffee kind of girl.

    I am, however, glad to see that they are re-training their employees on proper coffee protocol. Perhaps next they will embark on a training of manners and respect for the customer.

    THAT would be nice.


  6. At least they identified a problem, then implemented a solution. Many companies would continue on, knowing their product would sell anyway.


Leave a Reply

