No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Panic Averted

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on March 9, 2008

OK, so it turns out the Dr. just wanted to talk to me because my thyroid was slightly low.

She wanted to see if I had any symptoms that would indicate a need for treatment.

Well… first she said I could have medicine… but I would pretty  much have to take it every day forever, and I told her I don’t like medicine.

So she said that was fine, and I should just be on the lookout for any symptoms, and she’d check the thyroid hormone level again next year.

So I have to be on the lookout for…

  • Fatigue
  • Cold intolerence
  • Unexplained weight gain
  • Constipation

She said once the thyroid function starts to go down, it’s an inevitable process (especially since my Mom and Sister also have thyroid issues)… but it could be years or decades before I need to actually take replacement hormones… or it could be months.  Just have to watch it.

No biggie.

4 Responses to 'Panic Averted'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Panic Averted'.

  1. Ron said,

    Glad there was no major immediate problem. Hmmm I have a few of those symptoms, but thankfully I don’t suffer from the fatigu….. Zzzzzzzzzzz

  2. Deborah said,

    Whew, that’s good news about there not being a more emergent issue.

    Here’s hoping the symptoms stay away for a long, long time.

  3. tiff said,

    I’d ask for a retest. Seriously.

    I had a lightly underactive thyroid after the kids were born, and so took replacements for a while. Then I had to take another one, because the first one wasnt’ doing the job, and then had to switch again, and then just said “to hell with it” and stopped taking them, after hiwch time my thyroud levels were fine.

    No, I don’t know why, but it might be that this low-ish level is a temporary thing. I’ll keep the fingers crossed for that. mmkay?

  4. Dawn said,

    Whew. Now if only they didn’t have to freak you out first, huh?


Leave a Reply

