No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Woo Hoo!

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on July 12, 2008

Let me start out by saying that although I did attend many a concert during my teen years… I have sort of grown curmudgeonly as I have aged and now the very thought of going to a rock and roll concert with all thetraffic and the people and the loud… well, let’s just say I find it unappealing and leave it at that.

BUT!

There are a few acts that can cause me to dare to venture into that breach.

And so I found that free tickets combined with Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers was enough to enduce me to brave the wilds of my local amphitheater, stay out much later than usual, and, all in all, put aside my general cloak of fuddy-duddiness and have a good time.

Oh.  My.  God.

Both Tom Petty AND his Heartbreakers.  They rocked.

I have never heard a band sound that good in an amphitheater… possily because, lets face it, the bands of my teen years: Poison, Motley Crue, Iron Maiden… well, I still have soft spots for them, but they aren’t exactly what you call, erm, musicians.

Which, I might say, Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers ARE.  They play their instruments.  They know HOW to play their instruments. They played many a song that the whole audience was able to sing along to and just generally rocked.

OK, we still left half-way through.  It was god-awful loud, and late, and we couldn’t bear the thought of the traffic if we waited for the crowd to let out.

Note:  If I had actually paid for those ridiculously expensive tickets, we would have stayed to the bitter end, you better believe it!

So… there’s me, good on concerts for another five years, at least, but ever so glad we went.

3 Responses to 'Woo Hoo!'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Woo Hoo!'.


  1. Glad you had a good time – and for free! My favorite combo.

  2. Deborah said,

    Good, free times are indeed special treats.

  3. Ron said,

    Glad you put on your Party hat for a night of wild and crazy rock and roll!! Woo Hoo!! Partaaaay!


Leave a Reply

