No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Roller Derby, Baby!

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on August 14, 2008

I am going to see the Charlotte Roller Girls do some Roller Derby on Sunday!

http://www.charlotterollergirls.com/bout.html

I saw a flyer for this in our break room, and my first thought was

“OH MY GOD!  I HAVE TO PLAY THAT!”

My second thought was.

“Hmmmm… maybe I’d better watch a bout first and see if I am up for that kind of thing.

So I mentioned it to the SB, and he seemed willing to humor me in attending a bout.  But I wasn’t all that fired up to pay $12 a ticket for something that I had NO IDEA if I would enjoy.

However, providence intervened this morning in the way of TWO FREE TICKETS! (courtesy of the person who put the flyers in the break room, who’s wife plays on the team).

I’m going to the roller derby!

7 Responses to 'Roller Derby, Baby!'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Roller Derby, Baby!'.

  1. Ron said,

    Woo Hoo!! Sounds like fun!

  2. Deborah said,

    Hot house tomatoes! Be sure to tell all. We have an outfit…Windy City Rollers who I’ve been wanting to see for some time now…but not so much that I’d go to the venue in the neighborhood where they held their local contests. I found out recently they’re moving the show to a more desirable location, not far from work. Officially, the move won’t take place until next year, but this fall there is an exhibition match or something. I’m going to try to be there.

    Woo Hoo indeed!

  3. tiff said,

    Free tickets! Yay!

    You can spend the 24 bucks on official roller-derby gear now.

  4. renn said,

    If you can skate backwards, you definitely have a chance.

    We have the Carolina Roller Girls in Raleigh, and I desperately want to be a member.

    Sadly, my PT will not release me for that kind of activity.

    Be sure to update us all on your experience!

  5. suhas said,

    sound great.roller derby is addiction for all the roller derby fans. this blog is really nice.

  6. ifswallowed said,

    Okay, one more reason that you need to move to Seattle – the Rat City Rollergirls! http://www.ratcityrollergirls.com/photos.html

    We would be fantastic teammates. I want to paint a viking ship on my face and wear horns on my helmet….you think of what you would accessorize with and then we will work on skating backwards.

  7. ifswallowed said,

    One more reason to move to Seattle…

    Rat City Rollergirls.

    http://www.ratcityrollergirls.com/photos.html


Leave a Reply

