No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Ow Ow Ow. And Also… Ow

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on September 5, 2008

I went to my first roller derby practice last night.

Ow.

The first set of “skillz” we have to learn are seven different ways to fall

Right knee
Left knee
Double Knee
Right Knee and Spin
Left Knee and Spin
6 Point (knees, elbows and wrists all on the floor)
and
Baseball slide

After two hours last night, I was barely able to walk out the door.

But it was super fun, and a hugetastic workout. (WAAAAY better than any cardio machine).

So while I am being a whiny whiner about the muscles in my thighs that have never been used before (or at least not within recent memory)… I will definitely be going back on Sunday.

Heck, even if I never get the hang of it enough to actually play, it’s worth it for the workout alone.

8 Responses to 'Ow Ow Ow. And Also… Ow'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Ow Ow Ow. And Also… Ow'.

  1. Ron said,

    Sounds like fun, ummm if you enjoy falling down a lot 🙂

    Be sure to send us some tickets to your first match!!!

  2. Dr. Err said,

    wow. you are totally my shero


  3. Sounds like fun…I’m sure you’ll get the hang of it!

  4. Deborah said,

    You Did It! Congrats. Shero indeed! Wheeee!

  5. renn said,

    If/when you DO get to play, please give us advance notice!

    I only live about 3 hours from you; I’ll form a Derby Convoy!

  6. Brenda Love said,

    Roller Derby? You never cease to amaze me, young lady.

  7. db grin said,

    Pictures, or it didn’t happen.

    /totally would ride in the convoy
    //they still do roller derby?

  8. db grin said,

    Shero! Yes.

    What’s your rink name?


Leave a Reply

