No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


New Hair!

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on October 6, 2008

So Saturday I went and got my hair cut.

I really like the new do… although I haven’t yet managed to get it to look quite like it did the day the stylist styled it.

It’s not as short as I was thinking of going… but all those really short pictures apparently would have involved something called “Flat-ironing” and since I can’t even be bothered to iron my clothes, let alone my hair… I just told her to make it short and not too much work.  The back is really short.  Cut in a wedge.  The longer hair starts at the crown.

Anyway… here’s a (slightly blurry) pic of my hair when I got back from the salon.

And here’s the next day.  First attempt at doing it myself. Looking at the picture now… I think I need to make it come forward more. It’s still a bit damp in this picture – it was fluffier later in the day.

I do like that it can take a LOT of wind and abuse and still looks pretty much the same.  And… it looks WAY better than the “back in a clip” look I had before.  I had better luck with doing it this morning than yesterday… so I am thinking I’ll get the hang of it eventually.

Now I come to a conundrum.  I like this hairstyle.  But I am not sure that I am emotionally equipped to pay the stylist $70 every 4 to 6 weeks to keep this up.  It was pretty painful just the one time.  Of course, I already feel guilty for contemplating seeing if the Great Clips stylists can maintain this cut at $15 a pop rather than $70… I mean, I would think they ought to be able to, now that I’ve got a style.  And… I really went to the stylist to let someone who was good with hair do something new to mine.

I guess I have 4 to 6 weeks to think about it.

8 Responses to 'New Hair!'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'New Hair!'.

  1. Deborah said,

    Cute cut. I recently read of another blogger’s hair dilemma. Similiarily, she didn’t trust the ‘budget’ cut establishments in her town but budget constraints and wild un-ruly hair left her little choice. She was very, very pleased with the outcome. The stylist at the budget cuts even improved the cut normlly received at the high end salon.

  2. Ron said,

    I like it! Looks good and easy to take care of what an awesome deal.

  3. renn said,

    Take pictures now, while the cut is new. Then take the pictures to the Budget salon in 4 – 6 weeks when you need a trim. In the mean time, sock away a few $ per week. Just in case.

    I really like the haircut.

  4. tiff said,

    Oooo – me likey!

    I’ve heard that a good style includes using the proper ‘product’ on your hair. And knowing how to move the hair to approximate the stylists expertise. Seems like you’re well down that particular path.

    Also? What Renn said.


  5. Very cute! I agree that another stylist should be able to follow the general cut and give you a nice outcome for far less than $70. Most states have laws where stylists are required to have XX amount of hours in training, so… it’s not like anyone standing in a salon just fell off the turnip truck on hair styling.


  6. Adorable. Simply ADORABLE.

  7. Lauren said,

    Your hair looks so good!

    *YOU* look so good!

  8. Tracy Lynn said,

    Excellent do, dude. And Renn hit the nail on the head.


Leave a Reply

