No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Struggling

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on November 18, 2008

To get back to normal.

Now I have a wee cold.  Nothing bad enough to stop me from doing all my regular daily stuff… just enough to make it slightly draining.  Bah!

So I decided to go ahead and send my derby name in.

I had settled on Artillery Chelle.

But someone registered it between the last time I checked and this time.

Chelle on Wheels had several “similar” which pretty much makes it likely to reject.  Grrrr.

So I gave up on the whole “Chelle” thing and I will now be known as “Auntie Inflammatory” on the rink.

I am going to try to pass my assessments in December.  I am not confident that I can actually pass.  I know I can get through the first day of drops, endurance, jumps, etc.

And I think I am ok on the pushing and whips and pack skating in the second day.

But… I just haven’t been able to get the hang of hitting.  So we shall see what comes of it.  I have until December 14 to learn.

Of course, failing the assessment is no big deal.  I had originally thought it would take me until February to even think about assessments.  So I can take the December one, fail it, and get notes on what I need to fix in order to try again in January.

I am in no hurry.

4 Responses to 'Struggling'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Struggling'.


  1. Sorry someone else snagged the name and that you’re not feeling so great. But, I do like the name you picked. It’s very cute! (which probably isn’t the point, huh?)

  2. Lauren said,

    I love Auntie Inflammatory. 🙂

    I don’t think I understood ’til now that this was a particularly violent sport. How did I miss that memo?

  3. Deborah said,

    Boo on the cold blahs. Yay on the name and GO GO GO on the upcoming assessments. Radical!

  4. Ron said,

    LOL…. Aunti Inflammatory is a good one.


Leave a Reply

