No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


I just choose not to

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on November 20, 2008

Every once in a while I will mention to someone at work or whatever that everything I eat at home comes out of some sort of frozen package (ok, sometimes a dried package… hell, sometimes even just a refrigerated package… but let’s be clear about the packaging).

This usually results in some kind of comment about how cooking isn’t all that difficult and I should just try it or take a class or something. Because everyone seems to agree that pre-packaged food is just WRONG somehow.

So… just to set the record straight.

I CAN cook. I know how. I used to cook all the time. Baking, broiling, saute, slow cooker. I have many tasty recipes like my famous spinach puffs and spaghetti and meatballs and Indian Saytay made with sauteed ground lamb meatballs. I learned how to cook very young from my mother. She also taught me to iron, which I also hardly ever do. And to make my bed, which I do not do either.

I can slice. I can dice. I admit that julienneing takes too long for my taste.

But I did spend many years of my life preparing wonderfully tasty dishes some of which I still remember very fondly. Pasta shells cooked then sauteed in olive oil until ever so slightly crispy served with extra-garlic sauce and parmesan cheese.

Drooling just remembering it all.

Of course, all this cooking led me to the point in 2001 where I looked up and there I was, soon to tip that scale over 300* and I decided that perhaps allowing me to prepare my own meals was a bad, bad idea.

After I lost a bunch of weight with the help of the lovely people at the lean cuisine… I did try to take up cooking again. Of the “light” variety. But it was never really all that good… and the SB didn’t really like to eat the same things as me (he being of the so-skinny-and-can-eat-whatever-he-wants camp), plus cooking for myself involves such things as leftovers sometimes… just sitting in the pan and waiting to be eaten as “seconds”.

So it just turns out that life is ever so much simpler if all food is consumed in microwaveable pre-portioned packages.

So – cook for myself and weigh 300* pounds. Or… Eat the frozen meals and stick around 145.

Yeah.

I thought so too.

*ok… so it was more like 275… 280… but when you’re that close – it’s not like there’s a big difference.

4 Responses to 'I just choose not to'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'I just choose not to'.

  1. Deborah said,

    After your first few sentences the comment that popped into my head…were it not for having to cook for small chillren, hubby & such (back in the day) and the health factors I’m facing now.. I’d sooo be a pre-package queen today.

    After having read the entire post…now I want to say…cook up something, anything and send it to me. I’ll separate it, put it in small bagged or boxed portions. I’ll probably won’t send it back though. 🙂

    Funny, I never presumed you didn’t know HOW to cook.


  2. When you’ve mentioned not cooking before, I always just figured you were a busy gal with a full time job and no kids to provide meals to, so you just did the easiest thing for the two of you – no judgment from me. WTG on losing that much weight! I’m proud of you.

  3. Ron said,

    I need to get back on the pre-packaged stuff.

  4. tiff said,

    Have you found some brands with low enough salt to be OK and still taste good? That’s the battle I fight. I hardly salt my cooking at all, and find that the prepackaged stuff is way too salty now for my taste.

    Curious minds want to know.


Leave a Reply

