No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Danger, Will Robinson!

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on November 21, 2008

Today is the first day of the at-work holiday eating season.

Today will be the Thanksgiving luncheon on my floor.  Complete with a home baked dessert contest.

From there, we will have a series of lunches… people bringing leftovers in from their own baking, holiday parties, holiday lunches, etc. etc. 

This is the food-havingist place I have ever worked (well, except for Wednesday… just because I was desperate)

Part of it is that I belong to a small department that is part of a larger department.  But!  I sit on a floor with a completely different department.  So I get invites to the events for my small department… the larger department… AND the department that I sit in the middle of.

And… the department admins are all really good at their jobs… so the food is always really really good.

So.  Today begins the annual… “let’s not try to actually lose weight but hope like heck we can maintain the status quo for the rest of the year”.  Handily, it’s now cold enough for hiking and other outdoor activities.  I’ve always found that a 10 mile hike before Thanksgiving dinner is a good place to start.

6 Responses to 'Danger, Will Robinson!'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Danger, Will Robinson!'.

  1. Deborah said,

    Heh..no such danger here. I *am* my department and the 8 guys working around me don’t seem to eat anything that requires cooking, unless of course someone else has cooked it.

    You’re hiking (& roller derbying) so all is probably good.

    Happy eating.


  2. I’ve worked at offices like that. As long as you’re getting some exercise in and not nibbling all day, you should be good!

  3. jc said,

    girl, in my WW meeting yesterday our leader demonstrated just how much the average person eats for Thanksgving.
    Holy Crap.

    I don’t usually celebrate the holiday, but I do love me some pecan pie, but that stuff? It is the scary.

    Good luck with the status quo – it is a worthy struggle.

    jc

  4. tiff said,

    A 10-mile hike is good for lots of things. Mind-clearing, leg-working, happy-making.

    I think I shall adopt your tactic and do much the same, though perhaps a mite scaled down….not sure the Things are up for 10 miles. (nor I, for that matter)

  5. brenda love said,

    I am in a dept now (about 6 weeks) where all they do is eat! Its a lot bigger dept than the one I was in before, so it amazes me how much eating they do. Next week I have a dept. breakfast on Monday, divisional Thanksgiving on Tuesday, Thanksgiving itself on Thursday, and leftovers on Friday. Wednesday is going to be a day of loneliness and confusion….

  6. renn said,

    My office eats year round. In an effort to NOT gain back 20 lbs lost, I nixed the Thanksgiving party this year. We’re having a Christmas lunch, pot-luck style. The rest of the time? I’m drinking water by the LITER.


Leave a Reply

