No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


One Down…

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on December 18, 2008

So I made it through the first day of derby assessments yesterday.

OK “Made it” is a bit of an overstatement.

“Squeaked in by the skin of my teeth” is a more accurate description.

Over the course of two days of assessments we are allowed to fail three skills.

Yesterday I failed three skills.  (OK, two of them I pretty much knew going in I was bad at, so not really a huge shock, but I was a little surprised at the third).

So I do get to go back today – but it’s gotta be zero mistakes.

I think I am about 50/50 on whether I can get through the skills tonight with zero mistakes.  It is the easier day…  but there’s one skill that I am not really great at and I am going to be really tired by the end of the list (when this one comes up), so it’s kind of a toss-up.

I guess I will find out tonight.

Again… not like anything bad is going to happen to me if I don’t pass – I’ll just feel really stupid and sucky for a while, but I will eventually get over that and practice harder and try to be ready for assessments in February.

We shall see.

5 Responses to 'One Down…'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'One Down…'.

  1. Ron said,

    Good Luck! Just try your best!


  2. Good luck! I’ll send some positive thoughts your way. 🙂

  3. Deborah said,

    YaY! Congrats on getting past the first. Good luck for the next.

  4. renn said,

    Now that I have seen the Derby up close and personal, I’m a little glad that my rheumatologist AND physical therapist both told me “NO!”

    The fact that you have made it this far? DUDE. If you end up in February’s bout with Raleigh’s Carolina Roller Girls, let me know. I’ll drive to Charlotte.

  5. tiff said,

    You still must feel awesome for having made it this far. That chit ain’t easy!


Leave a Reply

