No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


It’s Not Just Laziness After All

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on December 23, 2008

So I was blogging around just now, as I am wont to do while I eat lunch, and I had something of an epiphany that I thought I would share.

I make no secret of the fact that I am an appalling blog-commenter.  I often think of things to say, but then I never do seem to get around to actually typing the comment.

I used to just put that down to laziness.  That’s my general fall back position for everything in my life… “Why did you do / not do / leave / take / experience / etc. That?”  – “Oh… because I am lazy”

But today I think I realized that it’s not the laziness really that’s keeping me from commenting on blogs.

I tend to read blogs while I am eating my lunch at work.  So the arrangement is me sitting in front of my computer.  In my left hand I am holding a cup of soup.  With my right hand, I alternate plying the mouse through blog-ville and shoveling the soup of the day into my gaping maw.

SO… if I want to leave a comment, I have to release both the spoon and the mouse, then kind of do a one-handed typey-hunty-pecky thing to get the comment down.  Because no… I am NOT going to put down the cup of soup.  Once it’s in place I try not to move it around.  I am a spiller, you know… the soup is dangerous in the first place.. picking it up and putting it down would be, I think, far to perilous for my keyboard to bear.

So there you are… It’s not that I am a lazy slacker with nothing interesting to say in your comments section… it’s all the fault of the soup!!

5 Responses to 'It’s Not Just Laziness After All'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'It’s Not Just Laziness After All'.

  1. Ron said,

    You simply need to modify one of those beer hats to hold soup containers and make sure the straw is able to withstand the heat of the soup. Once you have that squared away the world will be blessed with all of the random comments that for now just reside within that pretty little noggin.

  2. renn said,

    It’s nice that you’re aware of the potential disaster. You’re only thinking of the expensive company equipment.

    Now, having said that, c’mon over. I finally responded to your interview.

  3. Deborah said,

    Ahhhh, so that explains it!

  4. Tracy Lynn said,

    I like this Blame The Soup Hypothesis.

  5. brenda love said,

    Its okay to be a lousy blog commenter. I am an award-winning lousy blog commenter, and I still manage to lead a full life. Merry Christmas and Happy Nude Year!


Leave a Reply

