No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Respect the Pig!

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on January 5, 2009

So I have signed myself up for Ye Olde Shrinking Piggies

It’s a small thing that I want, but has been elusive these past weeks, especially with all the Christmas Pie, etc.

Just 4 little pounds.

But they have been stubborn little pounds and so I think that by committing to them and their imminent removal in front of Blog and everybody, I might be able to do something about them.

SELF magazine has a wonderful little quiz that tells me I should be “happy” weighing 141 pounds.  I think they are right.  I think that would be just fine.  Especially given the fact that I believe the last time I weighed something crazy like 141 pounds I was… um…  10?  11?  9?  It was a while ago…

So…  Because I like round numbers, I am targeting 140 pounds as my “ideal” weight.

This morning…  144.  The target has to be met on a Monday morning.  This is because I eat more on the weekends and therefore weigh the most on Mondays.

I have a deadline of February 16 to do this. 

My main issue is that I have a serious cake problem.  I love cake.  Cake… and ice cream.  Warm, gooey, microwaved chocolate cake (damn you, Harris Teeter!  And your single-slice cakes!).  And moose tracks ice cream.

If I can go cake-less for the next 4 to 6 weeks, I think I will not have a problem getting shed of these pesky 4 pounds.

Then I just have to work out a maintenance plan that involves keeping that weight but still having (less) cake.  Because I WILL NOT go cold-turkey on cake for the rest of my life!

6 Responses to 'Respect the Pig!'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Respect the Pig!'.

  1. Deborah said,

    I would kill for 144, well, maybe not kill, but certainly maim. 😉 Seriously, it’s all relative. Good luck on your 4. I’m on the hook for.. well, you’ll see.

  2. Utenzi said,

    Mmmm. Cake is good. I still have a slice of coconut cake left in my fridge. I signed up for a 13 pound reduction so I guess that’ll be the last slice of cake for me for a while. *sigh*

  3. Ron said,

    Unlike Deborah I would literally kill for 144…. ummmm… he he he…. just joking…..

  4. db grin said,

    I haven’t been 144 since 8th grade. I’m told the last few can be a bugger, I’ve never gotten closer than 5 lbs of any goal… up ’till now.

    Welcome abroad! I’m going for 30 lbs, which will still leave me outside ‘normal’ chart weights, but I don’t give two little seahorse-shaped pooplets.

  5. renn said,

    Wow! Thanks for signing on! It’s the ‘last few’ that seem to take the most work, huh?

    We’re glad to have you!

    I’m going for 19 on this round. Then maybe 10 or so more after that. MAYBE.

  6. Ginamonster said,

    Oh. Moosetracks Ice Cream…mmmm STOP THAT!!! heh.


Leave a Reply

