No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


I AM Total Quality!

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on January 8, 2009

So we have this little award thingy at work.

I appear to be one of the winners for 4th quarter.

I got a little framed certificate and a couple of logo’d tchatchkes (god only knows how that’s really spelled).

More importantly, I am now in the running to be included in the annual trip to Puerto Rico, which would be a hella-good prize.

All expenses paid, and it’s during the week but they don’t make you take vacation time.

OK, so you’re there with a bunch of work people, so “best behavior” and all that… but still…  Free vacation to a tropical paradise.  I can get on board with that.  We’ll see how it turns out.

This award program they have is actually pretty nice.  There’s only one downfall.  You have to be nominated by a fellow employee.

Now, in all the years that I have worked here at this company, I have often thought to myself… “my, what an excellent job X just did in helping me out with Y.  I should nominate them for the ABC award.”

But then I go out and look at the form… and I see all the fields I have to fill out… and all the things I have to think of to write.

Have I mentioned before my unavoidable penchant for the lazy?

Yeah… those people never get nominated.

I guess that’s what makes the award kinda meaningful.  The ONE time I did nominate someone, she had done something so monumentally HUGE that I was FORCED, lazy or no, to fill out the form.  (so huge, in fact, that I actually hope she gets to go to Puerto Rico even if I don’t).

So there it is… they ought to be announcing the annual winners soon.  I’ll keep my fingers crossed that I get to go to Puerto Rico.

If not, I still have my certificate to keep me warm.

6 Responses to 'I AM Total Quality!'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'I AM Total Quality!'.

  1. Ron said,

    Way to go on the award!! That Puerto Rico trip sounds like a freaken awesome reward. Are they hiring at your job? Cause I want to go!!!! Wait… I would have to do something to get the award wouldn’t I? Crap…. Still I’m hoping you win it.

  2. Al said,

    Good luck with the trip award. I could at least experience it vicariously WHEN you win.

  3. tiff said,

    take me! take me!


  4. Congrats on the award. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you win the trip to Puerto Rico!

  5. Deborah said,

    Congratulations! and Good Luck.

  6. renn said,

    Congratulations! I hope you win!


Leave a Reply

