No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Five is too many days

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on January 12, 2009

I have a tendency to sometimes not take my planned vacation days.

This results in a need to burn those untaken days at the end of the year.

As a result, I work a lot of short weeks at the end of the year.

When the new year rolls around, all that comes to a horrific, screeching halt.

Last week was, I think, the first five-day week I have worked since Thanksgiving.

This week is yet another five-day week.

Oh the humanity!

Thank goodness next week is short for Martin Luther King Jr’s Birthday.

Then, have mercy… THREE full weeks until the next short week for President’s day.

I can do it.

Just one day at a time.

8 Responses to 'Five is too many days'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Five is too many days'.

  1. Deborah said,

    I have a similiar issue. Except I haven’t even been able to burn them at year end for the past couple years We (management) are given the grace to carry over into the next year, with the un-written rule that they be burned within the first quarter.

    My boss (who has just as many to burn) beat me to the Fridays in January (except for a half-day 1/16). I don’t (can’t usually take Mondays) but I’ll take MLK, Jr day since we don’t get that day). I’m hankering for some short weeks—sooooon.

    Hurry, hurah February!

  2. ron said,

    At least you get those two days off….

  3. Al said,

    My next scheduled day off is Memorial Day. That’s right, the end of May.

    There may be a few mental health days before then.

  4. db grin said,

    As an entrepreneur, I have had the last 5 weeks ‘off’ because people don’t really want to remodel their homes during The Holidays, and it sometimes takes several weeks for estimates to turn into work.

    I’d much rather be working 5 or even 6 days a week at this point…


  5. It’s been hard for all of us to get back into the swing of things.

    And your letter is O.

  6. eb said,

    See how that ‘every day as day one’ can apply to so many things. Like – “Today is the first day of my very short work week.”

    By the time you get to Thursday, it will be true.

  7. Chickie said,

    Must say that I do not have that problem! I can tell you ever single vacation day that’s scheduled for me this year. This is probably a sign of really hating my job.

  8. movindowntheroad said,

    gosh, take time out in the summer and go to the beach instead!


Leave a Reply

