No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Man, that was fast.

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on January 16, 2009

I am going to NYC first week of February for some training.

I was, up until yesterday, booked to come back on the Friday flight 1549.

(If you live under a rock, you may not know that 1549 crashed into the Hudson yesterday)

That flight crashed at about 3:30 pm.

At 11:06 pm, I got a new itinerary in my mailbox telling me that I am now on flight 1543 on Friday (no time changes or anything).

The speed at which the airline got that changed and out tells me that they must have one heck of a disaster plan in place.

I suppose that they must retire those flight numbers when the planes go down so folks aren’t freaked out by taking the same flight.

And no, I am not really freaked out by the idea of my trip to NYC on a plane.  Not being very good a math, I have an innate feeling that my odds of being in any kind of crash are reduced any time there’s another serious incident before I fly… ’cause, hey… something JUST happened, so it’s unlikely to happen again so soon.  Any statisticians out there will be sure to correct me, because I know odds don’t work like that.  But it’s my brain and I’ll think what I want to.

8 Responses to 'Man, that was fast.'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Man, that was fast.'.

  1. ron said,

    Well, when taking a flight your way of looking at the odds is more calming, that’s for sure. Have a safe flight and bring me back something cool!!!

  2. Al said,

    While it’s statistically true that the odds don’t change, it sure sounds like they should. Have a safe trip.


  3. Have a safe trip! And I also look at the odds the same way you do. 🙂

  4. coffee said,

    I’m glad no one was hurt in the crash, sounds like the pilot did a great job

  5. Utenzi said,

    It’s always best when your plane crashes well before you board it. Karma is with you this time.

  6. tiff said,

    I like the way you think.

  7. renn said,

    Perhaps the pilot will be the same. I hate flying, but…if something were to go wrong, I would want HIM on my flight.

    I like the way you look at the odds. Very practical.

  8. Venusius said,

    Crazy! But it’s still safer to travel by air than by car/boat. LOL.


Leave a Reply

