No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Just a Little Bent

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on January 20, 2009

Last Monday I went to Scrimmage for the second time. 

Scrimmage is very confusing, and although I am sure that some time in the future, I will be able to skate properly and hold my position and keep up with the pack and track where both jammers are and who is doing what… right now it’s still all just a blur.

To make a long story short… Last Monday I was not skating in proper derby position (because new derby-ers tend to stand up straight when they get overwhelmed) and I took a shoulder to the rib cage.

Adrenaline got me back up on my feet and chasing the pack right away… but after practice, and the next morning…  well, I knew something wasn’t right.  The hurty-ow-ow was pretty bad… bad enough that I took several aspirin (which is something I NEVER do, usually no matter what the pain).

The pain went on pretty badly, but I am an expert at denial and I figured if I just went on pretending I was fine, then I would be.  (I do the same with colds, etc) Plus… iffn I went to a DOCTOR, they might tell me to take a derby break – and I only JUST started scrimmaging!!  Not gonna happen.

Saturday was, I think, the worst.  I almost broke down and made an appointment.  I figured… surely with this much pain (I was taking aspirin AGAIN) there must be something really wrong in there.  A crack or something.

But it was the weekend, and there was no doctor option, so I sucked it up, took my pills and went on about my business.

I decided that Sunday practice would be the litmus test.  I went Sunday morning.  I skated.  And, boy howdy, yes it did hurt.

But… after practice, something interesting happened.

The pain that had come on pretty strong during the suicide drills, just started to fade out.

By Monday morning, I was actually feeling pretty good.  Took the Niece and Nephew to the all day skate for a few hours (the rink is open all day on school holidays) skated some more.  Felt better.

Scrimmaged again last night (sure as heck remembered to stay in proper stance all the time this time) and today I am just getting a twinge here and there.

For future reference I will keep in mind… if you do something horrible to yourself playing derby… MORE DERBY PRACTICE is, it appears, the cure.

(OK, OK, so clearly nothing was broken, I spose it was kinda bruised. And, no, I suppose I am not silly enough to think that if I had been actually broken that woulda worked. Still.)

5 Responses to 'Just a Little Bent'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Just a Little Bent'.

  1. Al said,

    Sometimes you have to work your way through things. The second day is usually the worst. If by the fourth day you’re not better, then it mmay be time to see the sawbones.
    Lots of experience in going one step too far.

  2. Ron said,

    I would have been crying and dialing 911 the first night. Then been laid up for a week forcing everyone within screaming distance to wait on me hand and foot. That’s just me. Glad you are feeling better.

  3. Deborah said,

    I might have played it your way. Or not. Glad it wasn’t more serious and improving.

  4. Ginamonster said,

    I would have done it your way too. Pulling the muscles in between your ribs can be very painful as can dislocating them. The Doctor can’t do anything for a rib break anyway…

  5. db grin said,

    You’re hardcore, man.


Leave a Reply

