No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


A Good Man is Still Just a Man

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on January 21, 2009

I was quite pleased to see The inauguration of Barak Obama as President yesterday.

He was my candidate of choice before Iowa.  I continued to like him through the campaign.  I even – in a move COMPLETELY unprecedented for me – gave a donation of MY HARD EARNED MONEY to his campaign.

So, as you can see – I like the guy and think he will be a good president.

I do not, however, feel that he is (depending on your religion) either the first, second, or even third coming of God incarnate to the planet.

He’s a person.  A person with some ideas I like.  He’s going to govern the country.  He’s going to do some things right.  I am sure he will do some things wrong.  Hopefully, he’ll have more of the former than the latter.

He is not the salvation of the world. 

I fear that the people who are looking at him to change everything about this country and this planet are setting themselves up to be mightily disappointed. He is a man.  A good man.  I hope that people will let that be good enough.

6 Responses to 'A Good Man is Still Just a Man'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'A Good Man is Still Just a Man'.

  1. Ron said,

    LOL… great minds think alike.

  2. Doc Nagel said,

    We went to an inauguration thingy on campus. We drove to campus through typical Central Valley morning smog. By the time we left two hours later, the smog had parted. Today, for the first time in weeks, we’re expecting some rain, which we desperately need.

    I’m just sayin’.

  3. tiff said,

    I couldn’t watch the event for fear something awful would happen…but now that nothing has, I’m heartened and allowing myself to feel the hope, the change, the twist of sensibilities we all must make.

    YAY!!!

  4. Chickie said,

    I am on the bus with you! This was the first time I’d ever donated to a campaign and I’m not brainwashed (as some believe), just hopeful.

  5. Al said,

    People are soooo optimistic about his term. I just hope they give him the room to move. And contrary to popular opinion, he cannot change water into wine, or a crap economy into thriving economy.

  6. eb said,

    Agreed. People also have to realize that he can’t do everything at the same time. There have to be priorities. Plus, the man can’t do it on his own. We are the government and we play as much a part of this as he does.


Leave a Reply

