No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Panic Mode

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on February 10, 2009

So I have been kind of a freak for a few days, and I don’t think it’s going to get any better until Monday.

First, over the weekend, I had a diet melt-down… I just was sick of having to monitor what I ate and worry about my weight and feel like my life is so restricted because I had conceived of a crazed desire to squeeze my buttocks comfortably into a size 8 pair of jeans. Part of it was reaction to having been so salady while in NYC.  Anyway, I went kind of overboard in the opposite direction and then on Monday when I did the shrinking piggies report, I was up four pounds.  FOUR!!! 

Anyway…  In a way it was good, because over the weekend I realized that I had gotten a little crazed and obsessive about the dieting and that my goals had gotten out of whack with what my body is actually capable of supporting.  So I have managed to rein in that crazy a little and have settled back down to my original goal of a nice, healthy 140.  Add to that the fact that I guess some of that extra 4 pounds must have been water because today I am only up 2 pounds from where I was before NYC (and no one can actually lose 2 pounds in a day).  So I am feeling a little better about that.

But that’s not the only thing making me crazy.  On Sunday… I am going to be in my first real Derby Bout… and I am panicking just  a smidge on that point.

In my sensible brain, I know that playing this team will not be too much worse or different than scrimmaging against our A-Team…. our A-Team girls are better than the team we are going to play on Sunday.  In my crazy brain, I have built this team up into a manic derby hitting powerhouse team, and I am afraid. (when really, I think they only have two hard hitters.) 

Still.  Gah!  One minute I feel like I’ll do OK, and the next I am freaking out because WHAT AM I DOING PLAYING IN A REAL BOUT SO SOON!!!???

Anyway… I suspect the crazy will continue unabated all week.  Perhaps on Monday (a holiday!), I’ll be able to get back to “normal”

2 Responses to 'Panic Mode'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Panic Mode'.


  1. I know how it is with the nerves and feeling like unfinished business is dragging you down. I think you’ll be fine at the derby! You have trained for a long while and you know what to expect. As for the diet, my key word on all things good in life (food, etc.) is moderation. Don’t be so strict on yourself! 🙂

  2. db grin said,

    As they say, ‘normal is just a setting on a washing machine.’ So viva la vida loca! Good on you for not going full-freak obsessive.

    As for the derby, you ARE crazy. I wouldn’t get in a ring with a herd of derby girls (at least now that I’m not a hormone-addled teenager anymore).


Leave a Reply

