No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Stay from the Governor

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on February 11, 2009

So… the final roster for Sunday’s bout is up.  And I am an alternate (which means I only get put in if someone gets hurt bad enough to get yanked).

99% of me is hugely relieved that I am not going to have to go down there and play in a bout for which I know in my heart of hearts I am totally not ready.

There is a tiny part of me that does sting a little.  I mean… it’s one thing to know in your heart of hearts that you are simply not up to doing something.  It’s another thing to have a committee of people CONFIRM your suckage for you and announce that while you were originally scheduled to play, you simply haven’t been able to pull it together enough and the girl who was originally slated to be the alternate will, in fact, be playing while you sit on the bench wallowing in your suckiness. (Not that they put it that way – they really are nice people)

Still.  The 99% part is doing a little happy dance that I am not going to have to go play against the team that has the player who was the catalyst for the breaking of the arm/shoulder of a girl the last time we played them (a girl who was also, although she might not admit it, not really ready to be in a bout).

So.. still going to the game on Sunday, but in a thankfully much more bench-riding capacity.  I have no doubt that I’ll be bouting soon enough.  I will get good enough.  I just need more work and practice.

5 Responses to 'Stay from the Governor'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Stay from the Governor'.

  1. Deborah said,

    That’s the ticket…mo, mo, motivation!

  2. tiff said,

    Yup – what Deborah said.

  3. Ron said,

    Baby steps. This time you may ride the bench, but you are still that much closer to getting out there and beating the snot out of some chick. Patience and practice will hopefully mean you aren’t the one getting the broken arm when you finally get to play.


  4. This will give you a great chance to observe! You will be more than ready when your turn comes around.

  5. Ginamonster said,

    I wasn’t ready either. And most of the girls in my league will tell you THEY weren’t ready. How’s it feel to be normal?

    I think it’s kinda crummy that they did that, but our skating philosophy is different. Everyone skates on my league as long as they have met the attendance requirements and have the skills. sometimes crappy stuff still happens, but we try to be fair. Ad the likely hood that our alternates end up in the bout? high.

    Good luck on Saturday!


Leave a Reply

