No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


A Revelation

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on February 13, 2009

I think I understand something now that I have been struggling with.

(yet another derby post for those of you who are sick of them – you might want to just move on to the WVSR or something) 🙂

I fall down a lot when we move into the more complicated drills like pack work and hitting, etc.

I am told by the training folks that I need to “get lower” and “have a wider stance” and this will make me stable and not fall down so much.

It’s HARD to get lower.  It takes a lot of thigh muscle to skate in the very low derby position they want me to adopt.  Now –  my muscles are a bazillion times stronger than they were when I first started this adventure, but I still find that skating very low takes a huge amount of effort and makes me hurt.

And here’s where the realization part comes in…

I am trying REALLY hard to skate lower all the time.

This makes my thighs tired and shaky.

Then… when I start to lose my balance, instead of being able to correct, my thighs go… “We give up!”  and I fall down.

This seems to be something of a vicious cycle.  I need to get lower in order to be more stable, but skating that low makes me tired and unstable and I fall down.  At which point, the helpful training people tell me to GET LOWER!!!

I have never been big on strength training exercises…  weights are heavy and I have never liked to lift them… so I am not really sure how to go about building up my muscles to the point where they can support the required position without giving out on me.

I know I can do squats and lunges… but then when I do those during the day, it makes my muscles even MORE tired and prone to failure when I skate.  Am I overworking them?  I know there’s some kind of “time off” dealy with muscle building that is supposed to be when the muscles grow and get stronger.

I guess I shall have to turn to the interwebs and find out more about strength training to figure out how to bust out of this cycle.

6 Responses to 'A Revelation'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'A Revelation'.

  1. Ron said,

    I always thought after working a muscle then you give it a day off to heal and get stronger, but I’m certainly no expert. Good luck!


  2. I’m no help here – but I hope you find what you’re looking for.

  3. tiff said,

    Every other day workouts was what I lived by when I was bodybuilding. Of course, that was back when dinosaurs roamed the earth, so who knows now what the modern mantra might be?

  4. Ginamonster said,

    Skating low will help you build the strength you need to um, skate low. That’s what they are telling you without telling you. It totally sounds like bullshit, I know, but when you skate low, it strengthens your thighs. IT’S OK to have to build into it. OF COURSE your muscles are tired. You’ll get there, it’s okay. It just takes time.

    In my league, the coaches tell us that if we aren’t falling, we aren’t trying hard enough. You are GOING to hit the floor. It’s a good thing. Hitting the floor means you learn to get back up faster. And that you are pressing the limits of your balance and muscle memory. It also means that you’ll stop caring about falling because it won’t be a big deal anymore.

  5. renn said,

    Maybe the use of an exercise ball would help. I use one to help strengthen my lower back and thighs. There is resistance, but there is also ‘cushion’. It is strength training at a lower level.

    I am so proud of you! We can’t wait to see you bout!

  6. db grin said,

    While most of the weight I currently lift is my outsized ass, I used to do lots of weight training in my youth. We were told that workouts actually tear the muscle fibers a little, and they need rest to heal. During the healing, tissue is added – so you actually grow muscle in your sleep. Get plenty of protein and rest, and keep at it. Every other day is good.


Leave a Reply

