No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Hurty in the Face

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on February 23, 2009
Tags: ,

So while I have been managing to get through the Derby madness mostly unscathed of late, it appears that 10 year olds are too much for me.

Yesterday I was skating with my sister and her kids at the family skate afternoon.

I was coming around the corner at the end of the rink, and I saw a quarter roll by on the floor.

I thought… “hmm, that’s a hazard… someone’s gonna trip on that”

Then, I looked up, and saw a kid skating across traffic coming DIRECTLY AT ME (presumably going after the quarter).

I had about half a second to decide whether I was going to plow straight into the kid, knock him down, and probably land on top of him, or fling myself to the side to avoid him.

Not wanting to be listed as the cause of death on anyone’s death certificate, I flung myself to the side.  Sadly, that was all the reaction time I had, so I pretty much landed on my face.

Ow.

No teeth busted (or even loose), thank goodness. But I have a fat lip, and a small bruise above my eye, and a nice big bruise / scrape on my knee.

I honestly have no idea what happened to the kid.  I didn’t see anyone rolling around in pain on the rink after I managed to jump up, skate around to the place where my bag was, and plop down to nurse my face, so I am assuming he was unharmed.

I wasn’t really thinking anything but “OW” when I got up, though, so I hope nothing bad happened to him.

I went over, sat down and put my head between my knees.  The pain went away pretty rapidly, so I was thinking I was ok.  Then my sister skated up and I lifted my head up.  I guess from the look on her face, I must not have looked too good, because her eyes went SO WIDE and she dashed off to get a bag of ice.

At that point I got my towel and wiped my face and saw there was blood… I split my lip when I hit the floor.

So that was my skating adventure this weekend.  As I was going down, all I could think was… Damn, THIS is why we wear pads to practice.  If I’d been wearing my gear, my helmet would have taken the floor before my mouth.  Of course… no one expects to have to avoid a tackle when it’s just the Sunday afternoon skate!

7 Responses to 'Hurty in the Face'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Hurty in the Face'.

  1. Deborah said,

    OW indeed, I’m hurting just thinking about it. Here’s hoping you heal sooner, rather than later.

    btw…went to local derby match Friday. Awesome evening. Thought about you, pictured you rolling around the track. Funny, since I have no idea what you look like. hehehehe


  2. Ouchie! I hope it heals up fast – in the meantime, some make up can conceal almost anything!

  3. Ron said,

    Does it make me a bad person if I say I would have chosen to plow into the kid?

  4. Al said,

    I find it a little amusing that The Roller Derby Queen Wannabe gets wiped out by a 10 year old at a Family Skate. You shoulda taken him DOWN!

    Hope you feel all better soon.

  5. tiff said,

    I’m with Ron and Al….self-preservation, baby!

  6. db grin said,

    Are you gonna tell the other derbyists about this? Or is it our little secret?

    I’ve sprained ankles, bruised knees, bruised ribs, and broke an elbow at ‘family skates’ (yes, all injuries were mine). I’m not the least bit surprised.

    I bet that kid that will get run over chasing a ball into traffic. Maybe you should have taught him the gentler lesson of getting run over by a mad woman on skates.

  7. noceleryplease said,

    The general consensus among people whom I have told this to was that I shoulda run the kid down and landed on him.

    “Kids Bounce” is, I believe the phrase I heard more than a few times.

    Hopefully there will be no next time to test this theory!


Leave a Reply

