No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Run, Bike, Swim

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on February 26, 2009

My sister has asked me to participate in a “mini triathalon” with her and I have foolishly agreed.

It’s actually not that much of an event… Run 2 miles.  Bike 10 miles.  Swim some amount… not too far… But still.  Something that’s gonna take a little work.

I do not run.  I like my cardio exercise to involve wheels… bikes, skates, elliptical machines, anything like that.  But putting one foot in front of the other very fast – well, that sounds like a lot of work.

But I said yes, and so I guess, if she actually goes ahead and signs up, then I am gonna be on the hook for this.

Running is good conditioning work, so I can’t complain about the health benefits.  And it should help with strength for derby too.

Still… when I think of myself… I think of me being very lazy.  A triathalon (even a mini one) doesn’t really squre with that. 

Guess I’ll have to rethink my definitions.

8 Responses to 'Run, Bike, Swim'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Run, Bike, Swim'.

  1. Deborah said,

    Oh geez, I haven’t run in years and even then it wasn’t…well, pretty. Biking I could do, though not in a race. My biking is rather leisurely, near grand-motherly. 😉 (I imagine I could iffin I wanted). But, swimming? Think, Sink. Think, Stone. No matter the distance.

    Yeah, getting ready for the mini-T & participating should prove useful for derby training.

    YaY You!


  2. I could totally do the swimming portion, but the other two? No Thanks! Good for you, though!!!

  3. Ron said,

    Hmmmm… I’m thinking if I was involved in this sort of endeavor that I would need friends at each checkpoint holding up a donut or pizza slice to encourage me.

  4. Al said,

    If the public saw me running, they would come to the conclusion that something very large and fierce must be after me. This would cause a panic, and people would be running all over the place screaming. The television networks would carry it, thereby causing widespread panic, sociological breakdown, and possible the end of civilization as we know it.
    I therefore owe it to society not to go running.

  5. Mike said,

    Just passing by.Btw, your website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

  6. tiff said,

    Your website DOES have great content. And inspirational things too, like the not-lazy and some of the ‘you go girl!’

  7. jc said,

    yay!
    You can totally do this! Roller-derby chicks can do anything a mini-tri is nothing to you! You laugh in the face of the mini-tri.

    Okay, maybe not, but I still believe you can do this.
    Please post about it!
    jc

  8. Panu said,

    Bikes, Skates & Ride-Ons – All Toys – Best Prices on Toys & Games for all ages.

    http://www.citybabytoys.com/01-256994011-Bikes_Skates_Ride_Ons.html


Leave a Reply

