No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Wreckless Disregard

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on March 10, 2009
Tags:

How old do you have to be to have a second childhood?  Or maybe a midlife crisis?  I don’t know.

I have been feeling of late that perhaps I am missing out on the excitement of the world going on around me.

I started going out to rock clubs and “partying” into the wee hours when I was young… just as soon as one of my friends was able to drive, we took that freedom, some IDs from a local check cashing joint that upped our ages to 18 (no, we weren’t trying to drink in the clubs, just get in for the music), and had a lifestyle that was the envy of all our peers with parents who paid attention to what the heck time they were coming home in the morning.

This was kept up for quite a few years, and, by the time I reached the ripe old age of 21, I was pretty much tired of drinking and partying and staying out until all hours.

So I stopped going out, finished college, joined Corporate America, picked up a mortgage, and sent away for my official fuddy duddy card.

When someone tells me that an event starts at 8pm, or, heaven forbid, 10 pm! My immediate reaction is… hmmmmm… sounds fun, but I could be sleeping on my couch instead.

But there’s a whole world of people out there who go out, dance, have fun, get a little silly, have crazy sex in airport bathrooms (ew, unsanitary!).  I am feeling like I should be a part of that.  But then I hear the couch calling, calling my name, with its comfy, comfy cushions.

I have an urge to be like those wild and crazy people, but I have no follow-through.

I guess joining the derby was a start.  Maybe one of these days, I’ll make it to an after bout party.

4 Responses to 'Wreckless Disregard'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Wreckless Disregard'.

  1. Deborah said,

    Heck, I was out ’til just past midnight last Friday. It took both weekend days to fully recover and I had not a smidge of alcoho of anything stronger than a cup of coffee and some tonic water. But then, I’m a bit more senior than your roller derbing self. 😉


  2. Since you don’t have rugrats, I would be taking advantage of free evenings. 🙂

  3. Tammie said,

    You can get wild and crazy at your house!
    Start out small doing something you wouldn’t normally do and if you like it, do it again.
    If you don’t, then don’t.

    You realize there’s nothing wrong with wanting to live a quiet life, right?

  4. tiff said,

    Drive to the local airport with your sweeite, pretned you’re going someplace, then bang hte living snot out of each other in the family bathroom.

    Just shaking up the routine can do wonders. Tah-RUST me. 😉


Leave a Reply

