No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Bony Little Thing

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on March 27, 2009
Tags: ,

Last night at practice we were doing a hitting drill.

I went in with a shoulder to another girl.

This is what she said…

“Damn, girl… you’re a bony little thing”

That, I must say, is a fairly astonishing thing to hear.

For someone who spent her whole life being chubby, then fat, then morbidly obese, then chubby again.

Just

Weird, unexpected, odd-like.

But these people have not known me for long.  They do not know the history of me or my life.  They do not know that person.

The SB tells me I am skinny all the time… but he’s the husband, that’s his job.

To have some random person say something like that… like you would say to any normal non-obese person… just hit me like a hammer.

She has no idea.

9 Responses to 'Bony Little Thing'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Bony Little Thing'.

  1. Ron said,

    Congrat! It’s got to make an impact to hear something like that from someone that doesn’t know the history and has no reason to sugar coat anything. I don’t think I have to worry about ever being called that myself 🙂


  2. Congrats! But, expect to grow weary of hearing it. In our society, someone who is thin or trim is a target for verbal abuse. Just, trust me here. And good for you on the weight loss!

  3. renn said,

    I grinned on your behalf when I read this.

    I am SO proud of you!

  4. Utenzi said,

    Didn’t anyone ever tell you not to hit girls, NCP? Congrats on the weight loss!

  5. tiff said,

    Happy!!

  6. Amy said,

    Ah, so I should use that as motivation to lose some, huh? Maybe…

    It sure seems like it’d be a cool thing to hear, I’ll admit.

  7. db grin said,

    Woot!

    Instant feedback from strangers or chirren can be the most honest.

    Plus which, way to go on smashing someone!

  8. Ginamonster said,

    kinda like how you buy clothes that are too big thinking that they will fit? I still think of myself as bigger even though I have only gotten chunky. But almost 3 sizes later, I’m still picking up the 11’s and 12’s.


  9. Hi, I do believe this is a great blog. I stumbledupon it 😉 I
    may revisit yet again since I saved as a favorite it.
    Money and freedom iis the greatest way to change, may
    you be rich and continue to help others.


Leave a Reply

