No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Truth and Blogging

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on July 16, 2009
Tags: ,

Sometimes I will go to a blog or a site that I have been reading for a while, and I will read a story that, I don’t know, just doesn’t exactly ring true.

Like – no way in hell that really happened, or happened like that.

When I read a post like that, it really makes me call into question the entire history of the blog.

I mean, I know this is the internet, and we are all anonymous, and nothing really HAS to be true, and even though I talk about my life and post pictures of myself playing roller derby, for all you know, I am really a 93 year old gay man living in Korea.

But still, when I get invested in a “person” on a blog, but then I read something that makes me really question whether they are just making it all up, well, it just is kinda like finding out all that candy wasn’t really left by a mutant magic bunny, and all just came from the store.

The blog reading experience is never really quite the same once the likelihood that it’s fiction raises its head.

8 Responses to 'Truth and Blogging'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Truth and Blogging'.

  1. Ron said,

    OK….ok….ok….. the busload of cheerleaders breaking down in front of my house was a lie. Are you happy now!!! The ugly truth is out!!! Why can’t you let a man have his dreams!!!!!!! oh…. you weren’t talking about me??? nevermind…

  2. Deborah said,

    You didn’t fool me for a minute. I knew all along you were a 93 year-old Korean man! 😉

    Have you read the story of the IL blogger hoax?

  3. Deborah said,

    Bad Link, sorry. Try:
    blogger hoax

  4. renn said,

    I try to hope for the best in others.

    When that doesn’t help, I either read for entertainment only or walk away.

    It just seems easier that way.

  5. Al said,

    We all embellish our adventures to mae them sound more interresting, but I every once in a while get struck with the “I wonder if this is true” thought. I have decided that it doesn’t really matter. If it moves me, it is at least very effective writing, and I love a good story.
    Anything I write is true.
    Or at least based on a fact or event.
    Really!!!
    Sorta.

  6. tiff said,

    Send me the link (praying it’s not me) – I must know!

  7. Tracy Lynn said,

    I don’t lie. I have been known to embellish, but only for humorous effect. Because really, does anyone care if it’s slightly embellished if it is also hysterically funny? And I do mean slightly.

  8. PurpleGirl said,

    I haven’t encountered that yet, but I can see how it would be off-putting!


Leave a Reply

