No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


All Growed Up

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on August 24, 2009
Tags:

I did something this weekend that I have never bothered to do before.

At a party I went to Saturday night.  I had some drinks.  Then, once I was about 1.5 sheets to the wind, I said to myself.  “Hey self, you’re drunk.  You are having a good time.  Let’s stop drinking now and not ruin it!”

And I did.

I very rarely drink because a) I find that if I am going to consume that many empty calories, I’d rather spend them on cake and ice cream than alcohol, b) I really hate hangovers, and c) it’s expensive.

But – I have to admit that I do get a kick out of being drunk and I enjoy it now and again.  (and, I amd a very funny and entertaining drunk) So when I make the decision that at some certain event I am going to go ahead and drink, I tend to overdo it a bit and end up all crawling on the floor and apologizing to the dog for my wretched state (ok, that only happened once).

So I went to this party Saturday night fully prepared to imbibe until my brain was effected… and I did.

But when I reached the point where I was certainly drunk, and having a good old time and entertaining various and sundry with my mildy drunk antics, I realized…  Hey!  I am having fun now.  If I keep drinking this drink in my hand, I am going to start down the slope to shit-facery.  I think I’ll pour this drink down the sink and have some water.

And I did.

Is this growing up?  I don’t know.  But I had a good time without having a hangover in the morning, so maybe it’s a lesson learned.

(Most of the time I’d still rather blow 1000 – 1200 calories in one sitting on cake than on tasty malt beverages, though)

2 Responses to 'All Growed Up'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'All Growed Up'.

  1. Rachel said,

    Im the same way. I dont really like being shit-faced. I like being buzzed and giddy, but no more than that. I tend to stop around two or three drinks. And then drink water or soda until its time to go home. I dont know if maturity has anything to do with it, but maybe wisdom and boundaries do. :). Btw, AWESOME roller derby conversion post!

  2. Deborah said,

    I have been shit-faced 3 times in my life. I don’t see the appeal. But hey, different strokes and all that whizz.

    Good on you for realizing when to say, when.


Leave a Reply

