No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Under the Knife?

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on September 23, 2009
Tags:

So now I am considering having reconstructive cosmetic ok, ok, fine, Ill say it… plastic surgery to remove a whole bunch of extra skin that is left over now that I am no longer as large as I once was.

I’ve been noodling the idea around for a while…  but I am now to the point where in the next few weeks I feel like I might actually pick up the phone and call a surgeon’s office to talk about consultations.

I thought that blogging about it might help me as I work through all the major issues surrounding this decision.

So just as an outline…  here are the things I am worried about with this whole surgery thing…

  1. Recovery time.
  2. General anesthesia.
  3. Cost.
  4. Plastic Surgery vs. Body Acceptance.
  5. How much needs to come off?
  6. No, I don’t want breast implants.

And why would I want to do such a thing?

I have lost more than half of me.  Now that I understand things like eating healthy foods, getting exercise, etc. I realize that this is about the size my body would like to be.  I am not losing any more weight, nor am I gaining…  So while I might still be called “Fat” by a fashion magazine at a size 10 (sometimes 8, sometimes 12), I am good with things the way they are.

But taking out half the stuffings has left me with simply more skin than I require.  On my arms and legs, this just means I have a little sagging and wrinkling.  Nothing I wouldn’t have gotten with age, anyway.  So I have no problem with that.

My torso, though…  I can grab two handfuls of skin and pull it away, with still more left that I can’t fit in my hands. (yeah, sorry about that mental image).  It’s too much.  It hangs over my pants, I think about it and obsess constantly about how it hangs there any time I wear clothing that is even remotely close to my body.  (And let’s not even get into how my brain reacts to a hug).

I guess it just feels unfair that I went to so much effort to get to where I fell like I should be and can maintain in a healthy manner, and then I am stuck with the leftovers.

There’s also that I want to get a tattoo on my belly and right now, frankly, there’s just no way it could be done. (unless it was one of those Mad Magazine fold-out pictures that changes when you open it up).

I could go on.  I probably will at some point.  But enough for today.

<< Previous TT Post Next TT Post >>

8 Responses to 'Under the Knife?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Under the Knife?'.

  1. Ron said,

    OMG! The Mad Magazine fold out thing would be a most awesome tattoo ever!!!

  2. Ron said,

    Oh and as far as the rest of your concerns do whatever makes you happy it won’t change who you are which is what I value, but if it makes you feel better have at it.

  3. Chickie said,

    If it makes you feel better and you can afford it, then I say “go for it”!


  4. It sounds like this would definitely improve the negative image you have of all the “leftover” skin. And, frankly, if it were me, I would do it. You did work hard to lose all the weight, this would be just one more step to attaining the body you should have after so much weight loss.

  5. Danielle said,

    I can empathize, the extra skin can be uncomfortable physically, plus I couldn’t stop thinking about it either. It was always just…there. And if you decide to do it, it’s very possible insurance will cover it as medically necessary instead of considering it cosmetic. My abdominoplasty was covered and it was 100% worth it.

  6. SoLow said,

    I agree with ETW – I think you did the work to lose the weight, and so now you deserve a reward. I’ve actually got a little experience in this matter – not via having a procedure done, but via financing 3 of them for my ex-wife…

    I probably shouldn’t go into the nitty-gritty details about it, but hers were all about low self esteem – she got a boob job that I certainly didn’t think she needed, and then proceeded to buy every low cut top in the world. Then she got a tummy tuck that she didn’t need, to evict some stretch marks from her pregnancy. (Why would that matter if I was the only one who was going to see her stomach???? Yeah, I shoulda read into that one a long time before she left me.)

    Anyway, your #4 consideration makes me think you’re in a totally different mindset. Just the fact that you KNOW that Body Acceptance is an option tells me that this is totally the right thing for you, if you can afford it. I say GO FOR IT, GIRL!!!!!!

    Great post – I absolutely love the honesty that oozes out of your words…

  7. tiff said,

    I doubt you’ll be disappointed with the results should you choose to get the surgery done. You worked hard to get where you are, and even though you know body acceptance is important, what you also know is that you didn’t accept that old body and changed it by changing your life. Having that reminder around your middle of that ‘not quite right’ body is like carrying around a picture of an ex-lover who left you….

    or something.

    Go for it. And take pictures. 😉

  8. renn said,

    As the others have said before me, this isn’t some whim for you. You have worked hard, for a long time, to get this far. Having ‘excess skin’ removed is the final step. Insurance would probably cover it, since you have lost so much weight and gotten so much healthier.

    Congratulations!


Leave a Reply

