No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


So we Lost…

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on October 12, 2009
Tags:

Again…

By a lot…

Sigh.

The team we played was much better than we were – both in terms of the skill of the players, and of the level of team work.

I’m not saying there aren’t reasons for this.  Our team only got a few weeks of practice together in this current incarnation, and the opposing team’s been playing together for quite some time.  Our team truly is a “B” team… some of us were even brand-new in that bout.  While the opposing team had a mix of what in our league would be “A” and “B” team players (theirs is a small league, so they can’t break along those lines).

Those were the two BIG reasons.

But even though we lost…  I think we had some very good individual moments, and there were some flashes of what we can be once we get some more time playing together in this group.

I, personally, Jammed in a bout for the first time, and I even got lead jammer a couple of times, and scored a few points!

So there’s definitely some things to be proud of, and some things to work on that will come with time.

Mixed feelings all around – sad for the loss, but proud of what we did manage to do.

Here’s me jamming…

Look Ma!  I'm Jamming!

Look Ma! I'm Jamming!

4 Responses to 'So we Lost…'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'So we Lost…'.

  1. Ron said,

    You can never expect to win always or lose always it’s a process. The main thing is you are having fun and doing your best. Every loss has it’s teaching moments and is something to grow from. Keep on keeping on yo!!

  2. Heidi said,

    I have a good friend who was in a roller derby team until her knee was so injured that her doc told her she couldn’t anymore, and my husband and I went to see “Whip-It” yesterday, so I’m currently on an RD, OH SO COOL! kick.

    For a recovering perfectionist, all I have to say is, wins don’t teach you anything, really. You don’t learn what you could be doing better – I’m sorry that you lost but in the end, it WILL teach your team more than the win would have done, even if the win is a hell of a lot more satisfying!

    Hoping you get that win soon, though 🙂

  3. tiff said,

    Mmm, jam.


  4. Yeah, don’t you know? Its not whether you win or lose, but how you play the game. I keep having to remind my son that. His football team is awful.

    Just keep practicing and play for the love of it.

    Peace,
    Shannon


Leave a Reply

