No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Attention Please!

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on October 29, 2009
Tags:

I would like to take this moment to announce that I will absolutely not be participating in NaNoWriMo this year.

I am not a “Writer”.

I have, upon occasion, had a good idea or two for a story.  But I have neither the time, energy, stick-to-it-iveness, or talent to write anything that needs to be paid attention to for more than 30 minutes.

I certainly am not qualified to write a novel.  Especially not in one month.  I will stick to the reading of novels written by other people.  I think it’s for the best all around.

So here I am, bucking the announcement trend.

NO NaNoWriMo for me!!  Ha!

8 Responses to 'Attention Please!'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Attention Please!'.

  1. whatigotsofar said,

    I too am no writer. I’m a writher, a righter, a lighter, a darker, a higher, a lower. I’m a lot of things, but not a writer.

  2. Rachel said,

    I too am not doing Nano, but for completely different reasons.

    I consider myself a writer. I did nano last year, and found it very much antithetical to my creative process. I cannot continue to produce words if I do not love what came before, and I find that the structure of nano produces a lot of dreck.

    Also, I am only recently kicking down a very big writers block, and have yet to climb over it completely (I am still straddling the heap), and I do not wish to add to my difficulties.

  3. Ron said,

    I’m am a gud writer. I right all the tyme in my blog. Maybe I will be doing writing on that thingy blog whatsit. Cause I knows my skills be mad like a rabid chipmunk.

  4. Atchka! said,

    Good luck!

    I look forward to your nonsubmission.

    (But isn’t it fun to say NaNoWriMo?)

    Peace,
    Shannon

  5. Buzzardbilly said,

    No whey is I gonn parsipate eder. LOL that’s my homage to Ron.

    I know I can write a book, but it sure took longer than a month because I’m not a fiction kinda gal, so it was research, research, research and verify. I guess I could be a “writer” if I, like Truman Capote (my favorite author), took actual snippets of life and gave them different names, different locales, and some artistic license to be better than they were IRL, but I don’t think I could do that in a month either. And if I had acquaintances as interesting as Capote had.

    I have neither.

    Maybe we can sip coffee and blog away while the writers write away. I gotta say good luck to those who do it.

  6. renn said,

    I admire people that have the desire/strength/ability/interest to complete this challenge.

    I am not one of them.

    I have been working on a screenplay all year long as part of my writer’s group; I have processed exactly three scenes. They ALL need to be edited/re-written.


  7. I’m not a writer and am thankful I feel no presure to participate in NaNoWriMo. In fact, I participate in very few structured bloggy things – they usually make me want to dig in my heels and refuse. (Although I do the blogblast for peace every year.)

  8. Tiff said,

    Aw, come ON, between work and derby and travelling, you can’t squeeze in a BOOK?

    Slacker.

    (I’m not doing it either. I’m lazy. And lack focus. SHINY!)


Leave a Reply

