No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


NCP’s Tummy Tuck Blog – 11/16/09

Posted in Health,Surgery,Uncategorized by noceleryplease on November 16, 2009
Tags:

So I got a GIANT package of information about my surgery in the mail.

I am exceedingly please with the amount and kind of information offered by the PS office.  (By the way – yes – I will be naming the Dr and the practice… but I thought that I would do so only at the end of this process, so that I would have my opinion of the WHOLE thing to go on before naming any names).

In addition to the typical “what’s involved in your surgery” info that I would have expected (and frankly already knew, having been obsessively researching this for some time now), they also sent some very interesting info about what to expect emotionally after the event, which I WAS surprised by because other than the occasional “General Anesthesia can sometimes cause temporary depression” warning I found, I had not seen the expectations laid out nearly so clearly anywhere else.

It seems that cosmetic surgery has something akin to the “stages of grief” (only not really grief) that pretty much everyone experiences.

The first week I can expect to be on something of an emotional roller coaster… from the first couple of days of drug induced zombieism to later antsiness – wanting to get up, etc. to (I am hoping not) being a royal pain in the ass to the care-giver by the end of the week – all whiney and complaining like.

Also included in week 1 (around day 3, I believe) is the “oh my god, what have I done / why did I do this to myself!)  I am going to assume that this is because the swelling peaks around day 2 / 3 and what with that, the bandages, the drains, and the “not able to shower yet”, I can imagine that a lot of people think (at that point) that it might not have been worth it.

Handily, that all gets packed into one wild and crazy fun filled week of at-home recuperation full of couch-sitting and TV watching.

Week 2 brings with it a lessening of the swelling, and, OH JOY! The nit-picky phase of recovery in which I will be all “well the scar is a millimeter higher over here than it is on this side – OMG!  The whole thing is RUINED!!  RUINED!!!”But on the up-side, physically I should be feeling much much better during week 2.  I’ll be going back to work (Because, let’s face it, I have a cushy desk job and it’s not going to e that difficult to come sit in the office instead of sitting on the couch.)  I think the hardest part for week 2 will be feeling better, but still be COMPLETELY BARRED from any and all aerobic activity.

Week 3 – Yay!  Able to get back to physical activity, swelling pretty much gone, back to feeling like old self, only old self with an awesome flat tummy that I will want to show off to everyone.  At this point, I WILL avoid pulling up my shirt to every random passer-by like a three year old with pretty new undies.  I do have that much self control, at least.

I am very glad that they included this information in the packet along with more mundane information like the vitamins I have to take and the medicines to avoid and how long until I can exercise, etc. etc.

I feel like now forewarned is forearmed and I can head these crazy thoughts and feelings off at the pass if they start sneaking around in my head.  At the very least, I can try to keep them in my head and not inflict them on the SB… for whom I will do everything in my power to make sure his “caretaker” role in this is a relatively easy and painless one and not an endless series of fetching me things and petting my head and reassuring me about whatever crazy OCD thing pops into my skull.

My Pre-op appointment is on Friday, when I will talk to the surgeon about the things I forgot to ask at my consultation, I will see some before and after pics of other surgeries, I will impress upon him the importance of an awesomely cute bully button, and all the other things that I really ought to write down on a sheet of paper as I go along this week so I don’t re-forget when I am in the office.

Only 3 weeks to go!!

<< Previous TT Post |   Next TT Post >>

4 Responses to 'NCP’s Tummy Tuck Blog – 11/16/09'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'NCP’s Tummy Tuck Blog – 11/16/09'.

  1. tiff said,

    Well, it’s good you have the priorities right with the whole bellybutton thing. 😉

  2. Ron said,

    Of course you are going to the full belly button layout, right?


  3. Having had 2 c-sections (and a laparoscopy), I can tell you that the best way to sit up is to roll to your side and use the arm/elbow closest to the bed to raise yourself up. You will not be able to just sit right up right away. I’m glad you’re doing your homework and getting so informed. I think it’s helpful to know in advance what to expect.


  4. Tiff / Ron – Belly buttons are of VITAL importance!

    ETW – thanks for the info on getting up! I need all the advice I can get!


Leave a Reply

