No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


New Year’s Fun!

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on December 28, 2009

So the things I love MOST about the new year?

Getting to change the calendar sheet on my wall to the new year calendar!

Starting a new spreadsheet for the new year budget!

Switching to the new planner book for the new year!

I love these things.  I love the feeling of fresh and new that they bring.  I know that in reality, there’s nothing that different about January 1 vs December 31… but it FEELS significant, and that’s good enough for me.

Normally I do not make New Year’s Resolutions… because I, like so many, have failed to keep them repeatedly over the years.

But this morning, I read the following on More of Me To Love, and I think it’s really good advice… and I think I will at least give this one a try.

Many of us make a myriad of resolutions, the most popular often having to do with creating healthier habits. For many people who aren’t familiar with the problems with diets or the possiblities of Health At Every Size, their resolutions to get healthy are often conflated with weight loss. But this blog entry is not about why Health At Every Size principles can create more health benefits than focusing on weight loss (which is a discussion that we should definitely have).

This entry is about the only resolution you really need.

Say it with me now…

I resolve to be more loving toward myself this year.

How does it feel? Good? Weird? Icky?

If it feels weird or icky, it’s because you were taught that loving yourself is not the truth. You were taught, explicitly or tacitly, that you need to do a bunch of things in your life before you’re worthy of love. You might think you need to lose weight, or get healthier, or look different, or act differently, or get a degree in something or other, and then, and only then, will you be deserving of love, even of your own love. You’ve been programmed for so long to think that the way to have a happier, better, more wonderful life is to make yourself do things you don’t really want to do.

In fact, it’s the opposite. The way to have a happier, better, more wonderful life is to start being loving toward yourself right now, even if you think it’s crazy.

Now, I do not have HUGE self esteem or self worth issues… not like many people have.  I like myself pretty well most of the time.  But that’s been a hard road up from when I was 20 or so, and I wish someone had thought to give me the above advice a decade ago.

So even though I am pretty good to myself… in 2010, I think I will resolve to try and be just a little bit nicer to me, give myself a break a little more often, and generally just give myself some leeway at LEAST as much as I would do so for anyone else.

Happy New Year!

4 Responses to 'New Year’s Fun!'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'New Year’s Fun!'.

  1. Rachel said,

    I’ve already made pretty much the same resolution for myself. To be nicer to my body in terms of no-fat negativity and in not eating foods that make me sick (gluten and caffeine). I’ve also made a resolution to be more like ME in “real life” instead of just online.

    Happy new year!

  2. Ron said,

    Love myself more? But they tell me I will go blind!!!


  3. Oh Ron… that’s just a myth spread by people who want you to be unhappy!

  4. jc said,

    Dude.
    I love this.
    I may steal it and post it as well.
    I love this.
    I love this.
    Did I mention that I love this?

    thank you.


Leave a Reply

