No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


I’ll Probably Regret This. Or Not.

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on May 27, 2010
Tags: , , ,

I was reading a little news puff piece today about the new Guinness World Record MOST TATTOOED LADY record holder.

Now, most of the time I do have a strict “OH MY GOD! DO NOT READ THE COMMENTS” policy toward comments on internet news stories.  But today the comments were RIGHT THERE and the first were unavoidable.  So want to guess what the almost-first one was?

Yeah – “She’s going to regret that when she’s old”

Sigh.

I wonder how my life would be if every decision I made was predicated on whether I would regret it when I was old?

Would I have had children?  What If I regret not having them when I’m old?  But wait!  What if they are ungrateful little bastards and I regret having them instead?

What if when I am old I regret working so much?  Should I quit my job now?

When I am old, I might regret where I live.  Maybe I should just sell my house now and move – but to where?  What if I might regret it?

I think I prefer to just live my life in the moment and decide what it is the me I am now wants and just hope that the old lady I become is a cool old lady who understands that life is (or was) what you make it.

Besides… there’s no guarantee of getting old… and living a life I regret now and dying without ever doing anything I “might regret” – well, that would be something to regret.

5 Responses to 'I’ll Probably Regret This. Or Not.'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'I’ll Probably Regret This. Or Not.'.

  1. Rachel said,

    I’ve always been bothered by that phrase too, but never really analysed why. I think you’ve hit nail on noggin.

    Care diem!

    Another reason I hate that phrase is the self-righteous arrogance it take to make that judgemental statement.

  2. Rachel said,

    Er, CARPE Diem. Stupid thumbs.

  3. renn said,

    You know, I never really thought about it that way.

    I asked Chachi what he thought of my (henna) “tattoo”. His only response was “It will fade eventually!”

    I am apparently married to a man that prefers a “blank canvas”. *sigh* I hate needles, but I think I could really like the final product.

  4. Doc Nagel said,

    I used to regret tons of stuff. But it’s silly. If I hadn’t done several things I deeply regretted, I wouldn’t have ended up with the love of my life, or a labor activist. (Not that being a rock star would’ve been a bad life.)

  5. Al said,

    Rather, I think, will I go to my grave regretting the things I didn’t do.


Leave a Reply

