No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Blog Activism Burnout

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on November 10, 2010
Tags:

So for a long time now I have been immersed in the “Body acceptance” blog-o-sphere.  I was subscribed to blog feeds and news feeds and read all this stuff every day.  I was a contributor to a group blog that talked about fat and fat issues in this country.I had another blog where I talked a lot about weight topics, etc. I spent a lot of time reading and writing about these things.

And I quit.

I dumped the feeds.  I resigned from the group blog.  I set that other blog to private.

I just couldn’t take it any more.

Day after day of horrifying stories of how we supposedly civilized people treat each other just based solely on physical appearance.

Did it make me feel outraged and want to change things?  Well… yes… but.

I’ve seen how slowly change happens.  Social Justice is hard, hard work.  So mostly, instead of outrage, I ended up feeling fear.  Fear and worry about how I can try to keep those things from happening to me. Yeah… don’t get mad at the system… figure out how you can conform to the system to keep from being mocked and humiliated.  Way to go, social activist!

Plus, that’s a lot of reading… all those blogs.  I got to the point where I was barely reading any blogs at all.. mostly skimming, hardly ever commenting.  Kinda defeats the whole purpose of blogging.

So, as I said, I quit.

Dumped the feeds.

Went back to just my original core blogs.  Hey – I’ve even managed to have time to comment here and there this week!

So, yeah, fine… maybe I’ll never be a “good activist”, but sometimes you just gotta pick your battles, and maybe I’m just not cut our for battling.

7 Responses to 'Blog Activism Burnout'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Blog Activism Burnout'.

  1. Deborah said,

    Or maybe it is the form the battle takes.

  2. ifswallowed said,

    After taking almost a year off of blogging and trying other things (Facebook and/or just not turning on my computer) I can say with clarity that a break is sometimes just what it takes. I know now that I don’t like Facebook. I don’t like not turning on my computer. But I do like this blogging thing as long as it doesn’t take over my life.

    Breaks are good.

  3. tiff said,

    You gve it your best shot, but in the end you must do what feels right for you. I’m sure you added a fresh voice to the chorus, and have helped other people by doing so.

    Just don’t give up on US, mmmkay? 🙂

  4. Al said,

    You can’t fight every battle all the time. Not humanly possible. Nothing we are aware of in the entire universe can match the Human Race for pure meanness and perfidity. Unless you believe in The Devil.

  5. Elly Lou said,

    So on the serious tip, sometimes it’s impossible to save yourself AND the word simultaneously. So sometimes you have to pick you. And I don’t mean wedgies or noses. But sometimes you have to pick those, too.

  6. dufmanno said,

    We miss you over there. Initially I was worried that some viper had gotten ahold of you and just bitten you one too many times making you never want to return.
    I’m glad it turned out to be you making a choice for your own sanity and time.
    Elly is right about picking wedgies, it doesnt’ usually help me either.


    • I’ll keep reading the good ones like you 😉


Leave a Reply

