No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


‘Tis the Season

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on December 14, 2010
Tags: ,

To spend ridiculous amounts of money.

No… of course not on presents… that’s fun.

It’s just that since the extra spending is going on for the holidays, it follows that clearly something else has to go wrong.

This morning, it was a flat tire.

Which, yes, I knew that I needed new tires, but I was hoping to stretch it out until January and get them then.

But the car decided that today was the day.

At least the flat happened near a tire place.

Of course, it wasn’t really my tire place of choice, but what are you gonna do, there’s no option for driving around on three tires.

So… since the tires have to be replaced today…  I have to get what is available in the city.

I have a really weird tire size, so it came down to two options.  Bridgestone, which I have on my car now, and I don’t like, PLUS their horrifying Super Bowl Commercial Misogyny Festival… so it wasn’t going to be them.

Or Michelin.  Which, yes, is  good brand, but the ones available aren’t the ones I would have picked.  So I’m ending up with a set of what should be perfectly fine tires, but if I was able to do the research and have the time to pick, I would have gone with a slightly better set, even of the Michelins.

Sigh.

And then, of course, car repair places being what they are, the guy called me back to tell me that ALL MY STRUTS ARE BLOWN!!!  AND THAT’S WHY MY TIRES FAILED!!  AND OMG!  I HAVE TO GET THEM REPLACED RIGHT NOW!

No, I did not authorize that work.  A) I don’t ever believe the hyperbole you get in a car shop.  B) Tires are the ONLY thing I do not go to the MINI dealer for.  Period.  If my struts are a problem, I will be getting them fixed by trained MINI mechanics, thanks.  I’d rather pay extra for service I actually trust.

So all he did with that is convince me to make an appointment for MINI to look at the struts and tell me if dude was lying or not.

Which, lord, I am hoping he was, because the last thing I really want to do is pile new struts on top of new tires.

He said that my tires were all warped by the bad struts, but I think that the fact that I hated them and never once rotated them in an attempt to make them go away faster might have had something to do with it.

Sigh… Car Repairs… I hate ’em.

10 Responses to '‘Tis the Season'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to '‘Tis the Season'.


  1. We just spent $800 on plumbing! Merry Christmas!!!!


    • Plumbing, ugh. Nothing makes me want to sell the house and rent more than things like roof repairs and plumbing, HVAC issues. There is NO FUN AT ALL associated with those expenses!

  2. Deborah said,

    Auto (daughter’s) plumbing (the condo) electrical (the condo) . . triple crown.

    Being a grown up is the funnest of the fun. 🙂

    Good luck w/the strut situation.

  3. tiff said,

    one wonders what they would have told the SB had be taken the car in for new tires. Good on ya for not going all chicken little.


    • Now I have to decide whether I want to keep taking it in for the free rotations, knowing they are going to have some kind of story for me every time I go. Of course, that probably beats paying for the rotations…

  4. renn said,

    Good for you!

    Here, it’s car trouble for both of us, and both of our laptops have crapped out in the past two weeks. My hard drive died, and Chachi’s computer is riddled with a virus that turns it off.

    The cars are being taken care of; we’re back to sharing this old desk top until it dies or we get our taxes done.


    • Every year I count on the tax return to bail me out of something. I don’t know what it’s going to be until it gets here, but that’s why I never change my withholding. I know that return is going to be needed for something!

  5. Ron said,

    Never trust the guys at the tire place. In my experience if they see the person is a female all of a sudden all these BS repairs show up and they make them sound like they are critical right now repairs!!! Odds are the struts might be a little worn and the saw dollar signs and moved in for the kill.

  6. Val said,

    Meh. I went ahead & splurged last summer, got Michelins all the way ’round on the RV bcz if there’s one thing I DON’T want to be doing while I’m on vacation, it’s jacking that thing up to change a tire…

    Gotta find mechanics that you trust, bottom line. I have to drive too many miles each day to lose any traction stranded by the roadside.


Leave a Reply

