No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Putting on the Brakes

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on December 22, 2010
Tags: ,

So when I quit the crack powdered non-dairy creamer, it kind of kicked off a whole new “trying to eat healthier” thing that I have been doing of late.

I’m doing things like actually cooking food on the stove-top… things like rice and eggs and fish, BEANS for goodness sakes.

I have gotten my sodium intake to, well, OK, 2500mg a day is still high by recommendation standards, but it’s about half of what I used to be eating.

I’m getting things like adequate fiber and protein, fats and carbohydrates.

The combo of tracking exactly how much I eat, combined with the awesomeness that is the Body Media arm band telling me what I burn has really made me see that I was previously eating far too little.

I thought that I had crappy metabolism and could only eat tiny amounts.  But it turns out that, hey!  Only eating tiny amounts will GIVE YOU crappy metabolism.

I started out eating my “normal” amount, and I lost a few pounds…  I had put on about 5 over the course of this year and I thought, well, hey, sure, I’ll lose these.

So I did.

And then I decided, well… I guess I need to eat more, so I can stop losing.

And I upped my calories. And you know what happened?  My body said “OH MY GOD!!!  THE LONG FAMINE IS OVER!  LET’S GET BACK TO WORK, EVERYONE!”

And I lost another pound.

So I upped my calories again.

And I lost another pound.

This is not, actually, my goal.  I have a goal weight.  I’m at it.  I want to stay here.  I did not get all that damn skin taken in just so I could go and get all saggy again.

So I’ll up my calories again, and see where that goes.

So far, I am a) less cold all the time.  b) less tired all the time.

And, yes, I’m still obsessively counting calories, etc, but now it’s more like at the end of the day I am looking at the burn clock and thinking “Jeeze, I need to eat again” instead of getting to the end of the day and thinking “Jeeze, I wish breakfast would hurry up and come around.”

I’ve learned a lot from the people at the Calorie Counter web site forums, but when I stumbled upon “Eat more to lose weight” I thought they were crazy.  I thought… “now that’s not going to work for me, because I have screwed up my metabolism” – but it seems they were right.

Oh science, my brainy nemesis, you win again!

5 Responses to 'Putting on the Brakes'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Putting on the Brakes'.

  1. Chrissie said,

    Congrats! That sounds like a great problem to cope with… well done for treating yourself so well


    • Thanks… although I feel kinda stupid for having spent so much time before figuring it out. Ah well, better late than never!

  2. Deborah said,

    Better late than never indeed. Great to feel great whenever, however. Woo Hoo! Congrats.


  3. My friends who have done the weight watchers program say it works better if you eat to the top of your points – like, say you get 26 points a day, eat 26 points worth of foods. If you go lower, you stall the weight loss progress. Go, NCP! You can do it!

  4. Ron said,

    Finally a diet I can get behind!!! Just keep increasing the calories to lose weight!!! Woo Hoo!!!


Leave a Reply

