No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Tick, Tick, Tick goes the clock

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on December 29, 2010
Tags: , ,

The week between Christmas and New Years is traditially a slow time.  Most people are off… nothing gets done.

And yet, here we are, still sitting in the office.

There’s a few things I like to do during this week.

Clean up the office… toss old papers, dust things the cleaners don’t dust, get rid of things I haven’t touched in a year.

Clean up the computer… archive old files, burn previously archived files to CD.

Alas, the reading of blogs is more difficult, with most folks taking time off blogging too.

I’ve been hanging out in the forums on my Calorie Count site… but the same old post about “Help me, I can’t stop eating cookies” kinda get boring after a while, because I want to say  “HEY!  IF YOU DON’T WANT TO EAT THE DAMN COOKIES, DON’T EAT THEM!  IF YOU DO WANT TO EAT THE COOKIES, THEN STOP COMPLAINING!!!!”

And, let’s face it… that’s unfair.  People have myriad physical, mental and emotional reasons that they eat the cookies and it’s not nice to yell at them about it.  I’m probably just jealous of them because I’m not snarfing on cookies.

“Christmas” at the in-laws was last night, so we can put an official end to the holiday season.  I managed to get out of dinner at only 1000 calories.  Usually that’s tough, because they ALWAYS start dinner with cheese, crackers, etc.

Handily, the etc. this time included raw veggies with light ranch dip, so even though I was hungry, I managed to avoid the cheese… which for me is quite the accomplishment, as cheese is like heroin to me.  Yes, I am a recovering cheese junkie.  I admit it.

I am very please to have made a New Year’s Resolution to start Yoga.  I’m going to go on Sunday’s to a “Yoga for Climbers” class, taught by my friend Page, and then Tuesday nights to “Deep Stretch”, which will be nice and relaxing.

So, Yoga, Indoor Climbing, Derby, (and once it warms up some) Road Biking, Hiking.

I am resisting the urge to pick up any other activities.

I really would like to start trail running.  I did it once, and I had a really good time.  It was soooooooo much better than running on the street, which is not something I enjoy AT ALL!

But I need to restrain myself… there’s only so much time in the day, you know?

I can’t see myself quitting Derby right now… but I know that one day, I will.  I’m going to re-evaluate in August when the home season is over.

Right now, I am feeling like I’m a pretty valuable part of the team.  I’ve got experience and game knowledge, which makes up somewhat for my lack of being a big hitter.

But this year they will start a skater training program, and I hope that by the end of the season, we’ll have lots of hard core new athletic girls who will far surpass my skills and really bring the team to a whole new level of ass kickery.

When that happens, I think I’ll be able to think more about the possibility of retiring.  Three years is about the average derby career.  Of course… I’ve tried to quit before 😉

So for now, I will stick with what I’ve got.

Well this has turned into quite the little ramble.

Happy New Year to you all!  I hope that 2011 is an excellent and awesome year for all my blogging buddies!

 

3 Responses to 'Tick, Tick, Tick goes the clock'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Tick, Tick, Tick goes the clock'.

  1. Ron said,

    Running??? Not a sport for me, if you ever see me running look behind me and see if you can spot a guy with a gun. If you don’t see a guy with a gun look in front of me to see the ice cream truck. 😉

  2. Elly Lou said,

    Trail running sounds intriguing I must admit. However I have a hard enough time staying vertical on level, paved ground. How many calories can you burn while bleeding?


    • It’s not the bleeding that burns calories… it’s the replacing the lost blood!


Leave a Reply

