No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


THANK YOU SIR, MAY I HAVE ANOTHER!?

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on January 17, 2011
Tags:

I feel a little like the universe has had it out for me lately.

OK, OK, not in a serious “I have a terminal illness” or “I live in Darfor” kind of way.

Even though I’m whinging, I am fully aware of how good I have it.

But what’s a blog for if I can’t complain about the day to day “DAMNITs” I have to deal with?

So to recap the excitement since the last time I whinged…

December – Tires bit the dust – needed new ones – $1000…

So far in January

– SB’s clutch went out – needed new master and slave cylinders – $500

– SB got a speeding ticket – $500 to get that lawyered up to avoid insurance hike (that includes the fine).

And NOW…….

Took my car in for the 100K service.  In addition to all the 100K “stuff”, I also have leaking power steering lines and the bushings are busted.  Total?  Just under $2000.

I would very much like the universe to let me up now… I don’t think I can take another one of these “surprises”

Ah well…  usually we take the tax return and spend it rather frivolously.  I guess I know what’s happening to it this year.  And.. at least it happened at tax return time!

 

 

4 Responses to 'THANK YOU SIR, MAY I HAVE ANOTHER!?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'THANK YOU SIR, MAY I HAVE ANOTHER!?'.

  1. Ron said,

    ummm…. wow…. dats a lot of repairs…. at least you have a few items that you don’t have to worry about breaking down….

  2. Al said,

    This is the time of year when the perversity of the universe tends towards the maximum.

  3. Grant said,

    I’m pretty sure duct tape could have fixed all of those problems, including the speeding ticket. It’s like Batman that way.

  4. tiff said,

    This is about the time to start thinking ‘new car.’ Don’t be like me and keep putting it off until it sounds like you’re one squeak away from total collapse!


Leave a Reply

