No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Standing Here

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on January 19, 2011
Tags:

Literally…

I’ve been reading a lot lately about how detrimental to your health it is to just sit, sit, sit in a chair all day.

I mean, it’s not exactly rocket science, I know how I feel by the end of the day sitting at my desk.  I am tired and run down and my back hurts, etc.

Plus, sitting on your butt doesn’t exactly turn you into a calorie burning powerhouse.

So yesterday, I got a cardboard box, and I put it on my desk to elevate my keyboard an mouse, and I worked like that for a couple of hours.  And it was great!  My back hurt less, I had less of an afternoon slump, I was standing up straight.  Pretty cool.

I mean, I didn’t stand up all day – I don’t think I’d want to do that any more than I want to sit all day.  But the box is light and easy to switch in and out.

OK, it’s ugly and stupid looking, but it sure is making me feel better.

I shot our facilities person a note pointing her towards some ergonomics articles on sit/stand working and asked if it would be possible to get a sit/stand desk (they go up and down depending on where you want to be.

I haven’t heard back, but I assume the answer will be… if you want some kind of weird adjustable desk, ask your boss to buy it for you!

I’ll see…

Going to give this box thing a try for at least a week and see how I feel after that.

3 Responses to 'Standing Here'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Standing Here'.

  1. Deborah said,

    Fantastic solution. Here’s hoping you get the sit/stand desk.

  2. Grant said,

    IBM and some other companies actually allow some workers to work on a specially made treadmill upon which a laptop can be mounted. They walk for most of the day, albeit at a very slow pace (like 1.6 mph). Next we need a 150 lb. laptop that requires bench-pressing in place of the enter key.

  3. DebraSY said,

    Considering how many people have back issues and cannot sit for extended periods, the sit-stand desk makes a lot of sense and sounds like a reasonable acommodation for a business large enough to afford it. If it’s too expensive, you could decorate your box, I suppose. Create a line and sell them on ebay.


Leave a Reply

