No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


We Won!!!

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on February 28, 2011
Tags: ,

So Saturday was awesome.  Just….  Yeah… AWESOME!

We won handily, although it felt like a really hard fought game because those girls hit SO HARD!

Final was 215 to 128…. so that totally rocked.

I was very please with a lot of the work I did.  I went after those girls and laid some good hits.  I held my inside line (mostly).  I did quite a bit of blocking the jammer.  We made some awesome walls.

What really amazed me is just how much all the cross training and strength work has helped me.  After out bout in December, I was in pain for weeks from the hits I had taken.  My back was so sore.  It was terrible.  But since I have been doing SO MUCH work on my back and core, I woke up on Sunday feeling great.  No pain at all.  So.. that’s something to be said for all those crunches, supermans, deadlifts, etc.  It’s not all for nothing!

The only sad part of the weekend was an appalling lack of pre-sliced cake at the Harris Teeter after the bout.

Derby day burns roughly 2700 calories all told.

I had saved up about 1200 of those for a BIG HONKIN PIECE OF CARROT CAKE WITH ICE CREAM at the end of the day.

Then…  there was no cake.

NO CAKE!

I mean, OK, I went home and grabbed one of the frozen carrot cake muffins I keep on hand and had that with ice cream and some strawberries.  But it wasn’t the same.  It also wasn’t anywhere close to the number of calories I had planned for the real cake, so I ended the day with a big old calorie deficit.  Boo.

Then Sunday, I have no idea why, but I just wasn’t hungry.  I kind made myself eat enough calories for the day, but this morning I weighed in lower than I have ever seen, which is bad.

Today I will be very good and eat all the way up to my 2300 (actually, I have planned it out, and I’ll be at 2323.  I don’t mind where I am weight-wise, but losses are unacceptable.  Maybe it was just water fluctuations or something, though.  We’ll see where tomorrow lies – I’ll drink enough water today.

BUT!

Other than the cake sadness…  YAY WEEKEND!!!

6 Responses to 'We Won!!!'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'We Won!!!'.

  1. Grant said,

    Call for a No Cake do-over.

  2. DebraSY said,

    Congrats on the win! And on the pain management.

  3. renn said,

    Could you please come up here for a few weeks and train ME on calorie counting vs. exercise? You are a true inspiration!

  4. Ron said,

    Can I join in with the Renn class???

  5. renn said,

    If you *DO*, by the way, I will BAKE YOU A CAKE and slice it for you to freeze!

  6. tiff said,

    there you go with talk of that mysterious calorie deficit again…


Leave a Reply

