No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


I now OFFICIALLY hate Brussels Sprouts

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on April 25, 2011
Tags:

So I have always been of the opinion that Brussels Sprouts are gross.

Never liked them as a kid or as an adult.

BUT!

Being a fair and open minded person, I allowed as how I might now like them because my mom always boiled the things to death and maybe they would not be so bad prepared some other way.

I’d been seeing a lot of online places talking about the absolute JOY that is a roasted Brussels Sprout, so I figure, what the hell, I’ll try one more time.

So for Easter dinner, I bought a container of fresh Brussels Sprouts. I dutifully cut off the ends, which they say is what makes them bitter.  I cut them in half. I tossed them with olive oil, salt and pepper.

I roasted them for 30 minutes on 375, stirring halfway through to bring a lovely caramelized color to the outside.

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaand… they still tasted like Brussels Sprouts.

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaand… I still don’t like them.

OK, OK, they at least weren’t “Gross” this way…  but it’s definitely something I can check off my list of foods.

Done and done!

9 Responses to 'I now OFFICIALLY hate Brussels Sprouts'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'I now OFFICIALLY hate Brussels Sprouts'.

  1. Deborah said,

    I too, hate Brussels Sprouts. Good for you for giving ’em another go–now I *know* not to bother. 😉

  2. Ashley said,

    I never liked them either.

  3. renn said,

    You’re a better person than I am. I can’t get past the memory of the smell to allow them into my house RAW.

    I feel the same way about cabbage.

  4. Al said,

    Cook them well amd dip them liberally in REAl butter and garlic. YUMMMMMM. Of course anything tastes ok if dipped in real butter and garlic.

  5. Grant said,

    You just need to smother them in an unholy amount of salt until they’re no longer good for you.


  6. I’ve never had one in my life – they just look a bit dicey, ya know? Not taking any chances over here.

  7. Ron said,

    Hmmmm…. maybe if you mixed in some celery things would improve….

  8. Sun said,

    I LOVE Brussel sprouts! I love them steamed, roasted, creamed, julienned, stewed, chopped, well you get the point.
    I’ll be glad to eat your share, and you can have my share of seafood!

  9. tiff said,

    They’ve not sullied my table in many years, and i like it like that.


Leave a Reply

